click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:44 a.m. - 2006-12-31
happy new year!
I have seen a lot of movies the last few days.

Talladega Nights: we rented this and all they had was the unrated version (it said "must be 18 to rent") and I was expecting it to be raunchy or something but there was not so much as a stray boob. Not sure why you have to be 18 to watch Will Ferrel run around in his boxer shorts, but whatever.

The Pursuit of Happyness - my mom and I went to see this in the theater and it was really good. I love Will Smith. And his son is so cute I wanted to put him in my purse and take him home!

Y Tu a Mambia or something Mexican. Some movie we got from Netflix that got rave reviews but was just these two Mexican boys having sex with everything that walked. It was actually very funny but I got tired of looking at naked 16 year old boys.

The Nightmare Before Christmas - i have been wanting to see this for a long time but never got around to it. Unfortunately this was the second movie of the night and i fell asleep halfway through. Oops.

The Prestige - that magician movie with Christian Bale and Hugh jackman and Scarlet Johanson. It was twisty and turny and good.

Last night we went to see The Rat Pack - Live from las vegas, although it actually was live from Pittsburgh, obviously. It's an impersonation concert/musical thing with people impersonating Frank, Dean and Sammy. It was pretty good. We finished the outing with dinner at the most wonderful restaurant - this lovely atmospheric place up on Mt. Washington with an insanely awesome view and the best fish you can get this far from the ocean. This was all a Christmas gift from my parents and we enjoyed every minute of it.

I can't believe I start my new job in less than 48 hours. Between now and then, there will be more eating and drinking with friends, a night at a hotel to avoid driving around with all of the crazies, and that nervous knot that balls up in your tummy the night before the first day at a new school, or in this case, the first day at a new job as the boss.

A trip to the grocery store is in order as well. The most i've cooked in the last week or so is a plate of nachos at midnight when we had eaten an early dinner and were hungry again. I've notified the husband that we will be eating a lot of broiled fish and salads the next month or so to counteract all of those damned holiday cookies and meals of endless portions.

Any New Years resolutions? Mine is to be more flexible and less pissy when things don't go as planned. And to utlize my gym membership.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!