click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2006-12-18
sweet treats
Tonight i am going to make cookies. Yes, me...the one who does not bake. i am going to try something - i had some inspiration in the grocery store - some might call it an impulse buy, though in my world those normally involve lime green shoes or something with fake fur. We'll see how it goes.

Henry the cat is upset that Kevin is gone. It's very sweet but kind of sad. He keeps walking around the house with his fuzzy pink caterpiller toy in his mouth and he makes this sad cat-sound that's kind of muffled. It sounds like "Mrrrrrowwww. Mrrrrrrow?" I think in cat talk this means "Where the hell is Kevin?" Believe me, I empathize.

Today one of the kids at the center ran up to me and Stacy and Carolyn, with his hands over his crotch and yelled "JeKwon kicked me in my PRIVATE PARTS!!!" All three of us kind of stifled a laugh that sounded like a horrible collective grunt/cough. His brother, the perpetrator, was doubled over laughing and you should have seen the three of us scolding him and insisting "This is NOT funny." It was.

Also today, was a girl in my class, we'll call her Suzie. She had on this inappropriately short skirt and no tights or anything underneath. It was about 45 degrees today and the temperature dropped steadily as we played outside. I asked her a number of times if she wanted to sit inside and she said no, she was ok. I have sent kids inside before for weather inappropriate attire, but i decided she's old enough to suffer the consequences of bad clothing judgment. Well, her skirt kept somehow getting shorter as the afternoon went on. At one point, I turned around and saw her and without thinking, blurted out 'Agh! It's up to her hoo-ha!" Well, the other teachers thought this was hilarious (I honestly wasn't trying to get a laugh...it was just a reaction to an 11 year old with her underwear showing.) This kid is a little odd to begin with - she brought in a doll and was 'feeding" it during dinner earlier today and every now and again, she wanders off to the outer perimeters of the playground and talks to herself dramatically and throws in a dance move or two, like she's in a musical. Anyway, things got more uncomfortable when she ran over to the swings and, throwing caution to the wind, kind of tossed the back of her skirt over, behind the swing and plopped her practically bare backside happily into the comfort of the cold rubber seat. Arghghghghghgh! She must have had thermal undies on or something. She swung carefree for quite sometime. Upon her dismount, I called her over for a "let's make sure our bottom is always covered and let's make sure we wear pants on chilly days" discussion.

And now I will try to make cookies.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!