click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:39 p.m. - 2006-12-15
happy global warming
Oh the weather outside is....a balmy 55 degrees. It's DECEMBER, people. Every time someone gushes about how awesome the weather is, I make some stark, mood-killing comment about global warming. I did this in the nail salon the other day and this woman busted out with some random statistic about how ozone depletion in the last 20 years has only gone from a 10.8 to 10.9 or something. I narrowed my eyes at the 60 something who was getting a pedicure and refrained from commenting on her giant SUV that shed roared into the parking lot in. The two staff people and another client's eyes were on me, I guess waiting for some great comeback. I decided against bitch-slapping her for destroying my future grandchildren's earth and just muttered "Depends on who you talk to." Then she audibly SIGHED at me.

I guess when you drive around a big tank like that, people give you a hard time and it gets old. But it's just not right!

I understand, some people really do have needs that are more easily dealt with if you own a large vehicle. Some people started buying them 15 years ago when it wasn't such a well known issue, and it's hard to go back. I don't even get mad about the normal sized SUVs....I've been known to borrow a large vehicle from my parents from time to time, and we all know we appreciate them when we're moving. If i had my choice, i would probably buy a small hybrid SUV when we have kids. They're fuel efficient, and fairly save - not so big that they roll over suddenly or would crush a Honda civic, should there be an accident. I think those vehicles are worth considering.

But those gigantic things that take up the whole road? I grew up driving a pick up truck and a Ford Explorer so I am no stranger to maneuvering something big. But those Hummers and the Suburbans and the Escalades? I don't even know how people drive them around. This point was illustrated monday night at Kevin's company's holiday party.

A sad occurence took place when one of the guy's cars caught on fire. This was a newly purchased "classic' car that Jason was giddy-happy about owning. I forget the make and model but it was at least as old as me and light blue and very hipster cool looking. Oh, Kevin just informed me that it was a '68 Dodge Rambler. Well, apparently someone threw a lit cigarette into the open window of the back seat and set off a smoldering mess of a fire. Firemen, firetrucks, flashing lights. Jason near tears. All right outside the large windows of the bar we were in. The car was parked directly across the street and we saw everything. Then, this huge black Escalade and it's driver make an attempt to park in the very large space between us and the smoking car. Our view was completely blocked which was annoying. But it took him like 7 tries to wedge that thing in there. I could have fit two of my VW Jettas in there, no problem.

It always illicits a feeling halfway between amusement and anoyance when I see one of those ginormous vehicles with like 3 doors on each side pull up and park...and then ONE person gets out and they are carrying, like, their car keys. It's like a joke. Like a small person wearing an XXXL t-shirt. Or an engagement ring being packaged in a refridgerator box.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!