click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:45 p.m. - 2006-12-12
24, mean mommies and barbara walters
I rented the first disc of the first season of 24 since Kevin had never seen it. I relived those days of sitting in my house or katie and jenny's apartment in seattle with any combination of michele, katie, jenny, renea, bob, etc. They say you never forget your first time and I'm pretty sure they're talking about season 1 of Jack Bauer.

I was in line at Bath and Body Works and there was this little girl, maybe 5 years old, in front of me and she was jumping all around and picking up everything in her reach. She turned around and looked at me and gave me this big smile and goes "Hi! What's your name." I told her and then she asked me how I spell it and I did and then she spelled her long name for me - I forget what it was. We proceeded to have a lovely conversation where she invited me to come along with her and her mother. The whole conversation, her mom never turned around. I figured she was used to this little fireball striking up conversations with strangers and wasn't phased by it....I was thinking she was probably really nice and light hearted - she'd have to be to have raised such a sweet, personable kid. Then, as they stepped up to the cashier, some little altercation between mother and child happened - her mom told her to settle down and evidently didn't like the reaction. She started YELLING at her, really mean. She grabbed her and dragged her through the store - by this time the kid was bawling. I felt so sad for her. I hope when the time comes, that stressful holiday shopping doesn't blind me from the sweetness and cuteness of my kids, no matter how much they're getting on my nerves.

On a different note, I heart Barbara Walters.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!