click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 p.m. - 2006-11-20
Miss Jessi, part deux
Day One of Daycare duty.

I haven't had to get up early for quite some time now so I was a bit groggy this morning when I wandered in to my new part time job. I found out today that it's actually a pre-school and I am actually a pre-school teacher - the kids are older than I thought. Mostly 3 and 4 which is nice. The students all come fully equipped with potty training skills and the ability to speak in full sentences.

Today, we started out with Circle Time where we talked about what day it is, our favorite color and practiced sitting with our legs crossed and our hands in our laps. Some of the little munchkins are quite fidgety and there was a lot of "Natalie, please sit on your bottom....no, your BOTTOM." They really like raising their hand and talking. Especially if they have no idea what the answer is or what the question even was. Ms. Daley asks "Does anyone know what day today is?" And hands go up and random days of the week are shouted out, and then the ones who had no idea start putting their hands up, not wanting to be left out and when they're called on, they say things like "Umm, I'm going to my grandma's later."

The following question was also asked a lot:

"Who farted?" They fart pretty frequently and are very interested in knowing from whom each fart comes. Awesome.

We had breakfast and later, snack time, each with water, which means they are almost constantly needing to visit the bathroom. They are at the age where you have to accompany them and wait outside the door and ask "are you doing ok in there?" every 20 seconds or so. Hand washing is quite a project as well. One little boy had some serious problems with his belt, and so he came out with his underpants half on, private parts on display. This is when I stand there and go "Ummm...ok..." and wonder if I am supposed to just pull everything up for him or explain to him how to do it himself. Additionally, they don't understand the function of soap too well yet. I squirt it into their outstretched palms and then they promptly rinse it off, right down the drain.

When we talked about Thanksgiving and what they're thankful for, one little girl said her mom is going to have a baby and so she's going to have a little brother that she is thankful for. After that, seemingly every child has a pregnant mother and a baby brother on the way. They really DO NOT like to be left out. That was a big theme of today.

One thing I DO NOT like is how half of them, at any given moment, have one nostril that is completely filled with snot. It makes me almost gag. I handed out a lot of Kleenex today.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!