click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:09 p.m. - 2006-11-13
hair club for men
The Steelers won. This is good. It's especially good because when they lose, my husband is cranky for about 18 hours afterward. He was in a great mood last night after the Steelers beat New Orleans. Frisky, even.

I am so happy there are no more stupid political ads on. Now we're back to all of the ads that insist that I need to remodel my bathroom. My new least favorite version of these is the one that doesn't even make sense. A mom-type woman walks into the "Bathfitter Showroom" that ha a bunch of sinks and tubs and vanities, etc. The owner walks over to her grandly, as grandly as one can in the ugly sweater he's wearing and she exclaims "I thought Bathfitters just did tubs and tiles." And he says matter-of-factly "We do both!"

Both what? If it's both tubs AND tiles, then why wouldn't she have said "I thought Bathfitter just did tubs." And then he would say "We do tubs and TILES too!" It almost seems like both he and she are referring to something else entirely. Like picking up dog poop in your yard, for example. But they never mention it or show a visual.

I made a pepperoni roll the other day. It's Kevin's mom's recipe and it is dangerously delicious.

I also made calzones this weekend, I mean Kel-zones. Except I don't make my own dough. I use Trader Joe's dough. Oooh, buried the lead on that one - TRADER JOE'S is now in Pittsburgh! But since we have a lot of pointless liquor laws, sadly, there is no two buck Chuck. For those who haven't had the pleasure, Two Buck Chuck is Charles Shaw wine, that comes in four or five varieties, including a lovely shiraz, that only costs 2.99 It's good wine and cheap. But in Pennsylvania, with very few exceptions, you can only buy wine in a liquor store and beer from a beer distributor. My least favorite beer law - you have to buy and entire case at a time. How ridiculous is that??? You can only buy a six-pack from bars that have "carry-out." And often they only have like two choices. Gone are the days of picking up a sixer of Pyramid Apricot Ale from QVC, a mainstay of life in Seattle. If anyone wants to bring me a six pack of Apricot Ale from Seattle for Christmas, not only will you not be turned away, you will be welcomed to the Dobos-McDonald-Pisoula-Marsh table for the holiday meal. Maybe my cousin Evelyn will make collard greens again this year. They went over pretty well, with only a couple of eyebrow raises, until my crochety and generationally racist grandfather asked "What's this?" when he was informed, he did his characteristic, dismissive handswatting gesture and said "That's what the blacks eat."

It's a real treat otherwise, I assure you.

I was thinking the other day, who is the person at the news station studio, whose job it is to choose the graphics for the weather report? You know, when they do the five day forecast and there are all of those "partly cloudy" "Mostly cloudy" "partly sunny" "scattered clouds" "occasional sunshine" options. And you'll notice that each day, the ratio of clouds to sun varies a bit, with the "sun" graphic either spinning or "shining" a lot or a little. It just seems like it would be great to be a fly on the wall while this conversation goes on:

"Should I put one more little cloud on Wednesday?"

"No, because Thursday is going to be cloudier and if you put one more cloud on Wednesday, then you'll have to put two on Thursday, and well that is just TOO many clouds."

"Yeah, you won't be able to see the sun very much and it is a mostly cloudy day, not a totally cloudy day."

"Yeah."

In other news - what is up with Tom Cruise and his bangs? 45 year old men should not have bangs. Really, after 40...maybe even after 30, I don't think men should even really have a hair STYLE. It should just kind of be there. It should be trimmed regularly (or not, if you have a hip, shaggy thing going on) but it should not have to be overly shaped and or styled. Am I right on this? I guess the point is that high maintenance in men is not sexy after a certain point. Like, maybe it was sexy that your high school boyfriend shopped at Structure, wore CK One, and gelled the hell out of his hair with VO5, Dippity Do, pomade or glue depending on your generation (if you're a little younger, maybe you recall the business of boys gelling their hair straight forward, into that weird spiky, horn thing in the middle of their forehead.)

Maybe it's less of an age thing and just more of a preference thing. Maybe I just prefer for my man to shave his own head with clippers, pull on a pair of Dickies and be done with it. Although I do have to share with you that even though Kevin's hair is approximately 1/4 inch long, he does 1. use a styling product and 2. accuse me, with total seriousness, if I touch his head when we are going out, of "messing up his hair."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!