click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:32 a.m. - 2006-09-29
super kenny
The new things my kids at the tutoring program have been saying to each other when they fight is this:

"Your dad is gay!"

Hmmm. How is this best handled. I'm pretty sure most of these 9 year olds don't really know what that means, although they might have a vaugue idea. But what do you say? Sigh.

During my daytime television watching of the Rachel Ray show, which is when I write emails and blog, I have been noticing the ever-increasingly bad local commercials. The evening variety are bad, usually focus on local telephone-matchmaking companies where a girl named Bambi in lingerie says something like "Make the call...I'm waiting for you." But the daytime variety is all centered around kitchen and bath remodeling. My "favorite" is the one where this old man who is the owner of one of the remodeling companies walks through a newly remodeled kitchen and accuses the viewers "You haven't called Anderson Kitchen and Bath because you think we're too expensive! Well...we're NOT!" And then he sips his coffee, looking very disappointed in me. Then there's some voice over and shots of counter tops and bath tubs. He just seems so annoyed with me! Ive obviously misjudged him and his prices. I feel terrible.

Then, there's the commercial for "Berger and Greene" (Tough, Smart Lawyers.) It's a close up of this guy who looks like a mean version of Dr. Phil, and he barks at the camera:

Have you been in an accident?!

Call me today!!

Do you have scars, burns, PARALYSIS?

You can get the CASH you deserve for your injuries!

And then, the best part is that in the bakground of the commercial, there are these horrible shots of flaming car crashes, trucks flipping over, burning. As if you need that to jar your memory. "OH my gosh, I almost forgot that firey pile-up we were in last week!"

But probably the best is the plumber who cals himself Super Kenny. Some damsel in distress/housewife peers into her drain and laments the clog within. Then Super Kenny appears in his Superman outfit. Hmmm. I think showing up with a simple plunger would make me believe he's a little more qualified.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!