click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:49 p.m. - 2006-09-26
why do parents torture their children?
Hi everybody.

Some tidbits of late:

Remember that story from back when I lived with Diana. The one where I locked myself out of the house in my PJs with food cooking on the stove? Yeah, that was a good one. Well, on a whim, I wrote that story into the Rachel Ray show and...they called me! I played phone tag with this great producer-ish guy, and we finally connected. Not sure what's going to happen yet. I'll let you know when I find out.

So, I am waiting to hear back from this guy who said he is going to extend me a job offer. What's the job, you ask? Well, there is this famous football player guy who grew up outside of Pittsburgh and he is going to build a youth development center. There is a local pastor here who is heading up the project. Long story short, someone I know told him about me and sent him my resume. He asked me to come in to meet with him. He wants me to help him raise $$$ and design the programs for the center. An after school program, maybe a mentoring program, eventually a private school for under resourced kids. If I take the job, I will start part time until we get some major funding, and then I'll be full time, supposedly as the Chief Development Officer. I will keep you posted on this as well.

Married life is good. I work part time right now, tutoring. My day consists of waking up, watching the Rachel Ray show, exercising, cooking something Kevin can pop in the oven for us later, doing house wife things like finding places to put all of the lovely gifts people have gotten for us. Then I head off to the after school program.

Here's a little story from the world of 9 year olds.

We had a guest teacher come in the other day to do a project with the kids. The wrote their names and had to make up an acronym thingie like this:

J oyful
E xpressive
S Silly
S uper
I nteresting

Well, that's all well and good if your name is Jenny or Tim or Bob or Kelly.

But what if your name is: Tatiayawn-nah

Yup, that's a real example. Tatiayawn-nah gave up about halfway through her name.

Oh, and no less than three of them used the word "intelligent" in their name and spelled it wrong. Oh, the irony...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!