click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:15 p.m. - 2006-07-13
two in a row, if you can believe it.
So from time to time, I do this thing where I start thinking about a word or term. Like today, I was thinking about the term "marriage minded" and I began to have very hateful thoughts about this term.

I mean...what does marriage-minded mean? Am I marriage minded because I'm getting married?

Here are some other words and phrases that I hate (and I know I have and probably will continue to use these terms in certin situations but let the recrod stand: I hate them!

Infrastructure: Everyone in community development uses this word in an obvious effort to make a sweeping, big, airy comment to make people think they are really smart, when they coudl have just said "roads and bridges and light poles" or whatever. I mean, I know it's kind of a useful word, but I am really really sick of hearing it.

Critical Mass: What IS it about this term lately? I swear, I hear this EVERY DAY. Why can't we just say "the necessary degree/amount" or, or, or...I don't know, ok, it's useful, but I just really hate how both of the above terms are used, in this very "I am so INFORMED and WELL READ and ACTIVE IN MY COMMUNITY that I have to talk like THIS."

Brainchild: Umm. Yeah. This is just ridiculous. There is another word for this. And that word is: IDEA. Use it. There is no need to conjure, what, for me, is an image of whoever the person's idea was having a fetus emerge from their brain. Arghghggh!!!

Mount: I hate this word. It goes right along with those words that everyone knows I hate like moist and panties and loin and groin and such. I hate this word just as much. It is one of those words that just makes me laugh inappropriately.

Pick Your Brain: Oh my. This phrase makes me so very queasy. I imagien they are holding that thing the dentist uses to scrape tartar off your teeth and leaning in closer and closer. When someone says "Let me pick your brain..." Inside, I just go "No. NO. NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NONONO!!!!!!!!"

Benchmark: My whole sense of being alive shuts down when I hear this word. I just go "Oh shiiiit...." because my "boring information ahead" sensors just went crazy.

Touch Base: This one isn't really all that annoying so much as it just brings to mind (don't ask me why) a very very gay-gay-gay man in a suit kind of jogging over to home plate on a baseball field and very playfully bending down and just going "touch!" with one finger on the base, and kind of running away. I know, I am very very weird.

Warm Fuzzies: This term has a synonym. And that synonym is: Complete Waste-of-Time Bullshit.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!