click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:21 p.m. - 2006-05-16
yuck yuck yuck
You know how in movies, they show some idiot sticking his/her tongue to a frozen lamp post? Well, I'm that idiot. Sort of.

I was cooking dinner for my parents on Mother's Day. Kevin was helping my dad with yard work. My mom was watching the triplets. I rinsed off my hands and with them still dripping wet, reached into the freezer, opened the flap to the ice cube tray, to have the knuckles of two fingers instantly adhere to the metal panel. And I mean STUCK. It was extremely painful and extremely funny, as I pulled gently to no avail, stretched to reach the sink to obtain warm water to no avail, breathed on the panel to unfreeze it. They were probably stuck there for about 20 seconds before the warm air from the room defrosted the metal enough to free my fingers. The knuckle of the ring finger of my right hand is a little damaged (thank goodness not the left....people look at that all of the time when they are nearly blinded by the shimmering beauty of my engagement bling.) Seriously though...my finger....it's kind of grey. I guess it has frostbite. Yup. Frostbite in May. Classic j-do right there.

Last night, we had our bi-weekly premarital counseling session with John, this great guy who is going to perform our ceremony. We were scheduled to talk with him from 7:45 - 8:45. He called around 7:30 and explained he'd be a bit late. I had explained to him via email that we needed to be done by 9pm. He in quired if there was something important we had to do at 9 in case we went past 8:45.

Watching the third to last episode of 24 did not seem like it would go over well, considering we're talking about our MARRIAGE here. But it was the truth. So I told him, with great sheepishness in my voice.

His reaction was this:

"Oh man....(this pause made me VERY nervous....there are a lot of people that think that all TV is complete garbage and I didn't know if John was one of those staunchly anti-TV people like I used to be, back in my more judgemental days)....Well, you definitely cannot miss Jack Bauer trying to overthrow the American presidency. I mean WHAT is he going to do this week?"

It was the equivlent to what it might be like if Kevin discovered that John is a huge KISS fan.

I am happy to report not only were we done in time, but the President and his boring border speech delayed things, giving us even more time to prepare for the latest installment of the greatest show on television.

On a different note, I am NOT happy to report that someone decided to smear their own feces on the wall of the bathroom of my somewhat upscale office building. Poop. On the wall. YUUUUUUUUCCKKKKKKKKK. I think they brought in HAZ-MAT, Disaster Restoration Services and the Hepatitis Task Force to deal with this one.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!