click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:15 p.m. - 2006-05-11
I do spa, though
Some tidbits:

1. I really hate using the bathroom at work. It is really small and has two stalls. I prefer large bathrooms with like 15 stalls, or single person bathrooms with a door that locks and no one else can come in. But the two stall deal is THE WORST. Especially when, like, your boss comes in when you're in there. I just CANNOT go to the bathroom right next to someone unless it is a complete stranger I will never see again, and maybe my mother or Bev or Bethany. The absolutely worst is when it's your boss or a co-worker or client and they want to TALK to you while you're both using the facilities. Argh!!!

2. I hate when you hear someone incorrectly. This common occurance usually does not result in embarrassment or disaster, and occasionally even lightens a tense mood. Mostly it's no big deal like someone says "I opened the door" and you thought they said "I went to the store." Generally speaking, it's of little consequence. But sometimes, it just sucks. I'll give you and example.

Recently, I was showing a pink, oblong shaped pillow, that a client had made for me, to someone, and they laughed and said "It looks like a penis." The comment seemed slightly out of character for the person who said it, but it's not like it was filthy, crude, crass, etc. It was a fairly accurate observation, actually, if slightly off-color. But me, being someone who does not like to make others feel uncomfortable, and not being easily offended, decided to just kind of go with it. It was pretty funny, actually. So I laughed, and repeated it. "I guess it does kind of look like a penis." A few minutes later, it came up again...the pillow. And I referenced the "penis" comment in a somewhat witty fashion.

The person laughed and moved on in the conversation. Later, they brought the pillow up again and V-E-R-Y pointedly used the word PEANUT to describe it. I realized in horror that they had originally said "peanut" and I had heard "penis."

Oh dear. What can you say at that point? Sigh.

3. Our Save-the-Date cards are done. We can't decide if we should email some or snail mail all of them.

4. I put 287 miles on my car in two days for work. But we get reimbursed 45 cents per mile. So it kind of sucks and rocks at the same time.

5. Has anyone seen Akeelah and the Bee? I am reminded of its promising charm every time I get a Venti drip from across the street.

6. There is no 6. (A little Keith Wasserman humor for you there.)

7. I got a scholarship to go to Tucson, Arizona for four days in a couple weeks. It's a staff conference that is taking place at a resort. An actual resort. I don't think I've ever been to an actual resort before. It's a spa and golf resort. I don't golf but I sure do "spa."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!