click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:57 p.m. - 2006-05-01
28! Woo-hoo!
Oh what a weekend.

Kelly Cooke was in town. That is always extra-fun.

Kevin came back from being away for work. AGAIN. I hate when he leaves and I hate when he's away but I sure do like it when he comes back. There is lots of smooching. :)

I had a party of sorts at a place several of you have been, Alexander Graham Bell's, home of the best karaoke Homestead has to offer. A good mix of people came and a lot of fun was had. A lot of songs were sung. A lot of duets, since it was my birthday....me and Kevin sang our clasic "Love Shack", Kels and I Sang LIvin' on a Prayer, Heather and I Sang Like a Prayer (I'm devising a sermon on the connection between prayer and karaoke, just kidding.) And then, my favorite part of the evening, or one of my favorite parts...Jim, a friend of mine from high school, who also happens to be the traffic reporter on KDKA TV News, joined me for my favorite karaoke song, Shoop by Salt N' Pepa. Ben Cape has been kind enough to accompany me on this little ditty in the past and that has been extremely fun. This time around, well, you have to understand that Jim might be the world's whitest man. And of course, he knew his part of the song perfectly, word for word. So Jim and I are up there rapping the night away, when I notice that this group of brothers is hanging out just a few feet away from us and they are definitely highly amused by our rendition of Shoop. After a while, they just come over, dancing to the song, and kind of gather around me (this is a polite way of describing the situation) which causes my ever-valliant fiance, to stand up and raise an eyebrow (later, the date of my friend Amber, who is a very very large black man, told me that at that point, he was like "aw, man..." because he knew he'd have to have Kevin's back if it became necessary.) No actual fighting or even fighting words were exchanged, unless you count the part where through my hysterical laughter, I said into my microphone, as I was engulfed by my new friends, "Umm, guys, my fiance is on his way up here..." they scuttled back to their little corner after that and Jim and I finished the song "Shoop. Shoopy doop. Shoopy doopy doopy doop!"

Another favorite moment was Jeff and Andrew singing "Hott for Teacher." That was pretty great.

Oh, no wait. Alicia, this cute, kinda short girl with glasses and a really sweet, bubbly sounding voice did "I Like Big Butts" or whatever that Sir Mix-A-Lot song is called. She did the 100% Alicia version of this song. Just picture this really peppy white girl saying "My Anaconda don't want none unless you've got buns, Hon!"

It was also really great when Robin, my friend who is in her late 40s attempted to play match-maker between two of my single friends. I was transported back to Junior HIgh as I watched them sneak glances at each other and try to act casual.

OK, my real favorite part of the evening was probably the various Sinatra ballads that Kevin crooned to me. Awwww.

So, sorry if you missed it...it might have been my favorite birthday ever. ALthough that one where my present was a pony was pretty great...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!