click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 p.m. - 2006-03-14
The Happy Birthday Team
My first (voluntary/extra-cirricular)project with The Arthritis Foundation is to organize a Walk Team to walk with thousands of people in support of research for Arthritis.

Here are some things that I did not know about Arthritis until recently:

Children get arthritis. If it is Rheumatoid Arthritis it is extemely disabling and even disfiguring.

Researchers are truly on the verge of a cure for Rheumatoid Arthritis.

1 in 3 American has one of the 100+ forms of arthritis.

Fybromyalgia, Lupus and Scleraderma are all forms of arthritis.

50% of arthritis patients are under the age of 65.

I guess, prior to my involvement with The Arthritis Foundation, I thought of arthritis as a condition that older people developed and that they took Advil for. This is a gross and widespread misconception of this disease. I've had the honor of meeting and working with individuals who are disabled, but fierce in their battle against Arthritis. It inspired me to form my own Walk Team.

Our Walk Team is called "Happy Birthday" because the day of the walk falls on my mom and her twin brother Tim's birthdays. My mom has agreed to spend the morning of her birthday walking with me in support of arthritis research.

So, here's my challenge to YOU: if you like reading my blog and always thought to yourself, "hey, I like reading this blog" go ahead and "tip" me by donating a couple bucks to my team for the Pittsburgh Arthritis Walk. Or you can come to Pittsburgh (if you're not already here and sign up to walk with our team!) Here's the link, below. Thanks for supporting me in my new job and for supporting Arthritis Research!

http://arthritiswalkpgh.kintera.org/faf/search/searchTeamPart.asp?ievent=156219&lis=1&kntae156219=88E2D15EF0CF48A3A78AC9182030ABFB&team=1257509&tlteam=0

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!