click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:16 p.m. - 2006-02-13
That's so brokeback
That's so brokeback...

It's basically a substitute for saying "That's so gay." Try it. Kevin uses it very appropriately and it makes me laugh.

Well, you know what is so brokeback all of a sudden?

Our cats.

Kevin has had Henry the cat for a couple years, and Kevin and I picked out Ted together about 9 months ago. I call them "our" cats now, most of the time, even though, technically, I suppose they are really just Kevin's.

Anyway, back to the brokeback thing. The cats, both male, have gotten friendlier and friendlier. Ted, the newer one is much more skittish and nervous than Henry, who is pretty much the greatest cat in the world. Henry comes to the door when you come home like dogs do. Ted hides upstairs 80% of the time and does not come out when strangers are in the house. Some have questioned whether or not he actually exists. When we first brought Ted to Kevin's house, he hid all of the time and then slowly started coming out only at night. After MONTHS, he started playing with Henry a little bit.

Ted liked me best and woudl very occasionally and only at night jump up next to me and rub up against me to get me to pet him. But if you turned to look at him or moved too quickly, he would bolt.

It used to be that Henry would hang out with us, and Ted would come downstairs when he was hungry, if I was at Kevin's house. He did not come out if Kevin was there by himself. This situation has improved and he is in general a lot less afraid.

However...

In the past week or so, I have witnessed a lot of kitty flirting, a lot of kitty cuddling and even some very intimate licking if you know what I'm sayin'. Ted will walk coyly over to Henry and rub against him and stick his butt in his face and then slink away, looking over his shoulder, teasing. Then there's lot's of licking. During naptime, which for cats seems to be most of he day, they don't just lay near each other. Henry and Ted now spoon, almost daily, with Henry's little arm/paw/front leg draped over Ted's shoulder.

It makes me uncomfortable. I mean, I'm cool with whatever, but is this NORMAL??? Am I totally being Bree on Desperate Housewives?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!