click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:55 p.m. - 2006-02-09
U2 wins!
Well, unsurprisingly, Dublin's best swept all 5 awards it was nominated for at last night's Grammy Awards ceremony that took place in L.A. How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, the album they released at the beginning of 2005 won for Album of the Year and Best Rock Album. The song, "Sometimes You Can't Make It on Your Own" won for Song of the Year and Best Rock Performance by a Duo/Group With Vocal; and "City of Blinding Lights" was named Best Rock Song.

I know everyone who reads this isn't a U2 fan, but you've got to admit that when the same four guys who have been making music together for 28 years can still produce a hit album, it's pretty amazing.

I do have to say though that the performance with Mary J. Blige, which I only caught the end of was um, bad. Yeah, I said it. It was like the sound system must have been off and Bono and Mary J. couldn't hear each other or something. I'm biased, but I'm pretty sure it was her that was "off" ...well, I guess that's logical since it was a song Bono has probaby performed live 1000 times...in any case, it was bad. Like really bad. But here's the weird thing...no one is talking about it. Not on my usual U2 web sites anyway, and beleive me, those folks blast them when they deserve it. And Matt Dillon and Ludacris went on stage to give an award directly after the U2/Mary J. performance and Matt Dillon said something like "Well, that's a tough act to follow." And I thought he was joking for a second but then I realized, you DO NOT diss Bono and Mary J. no matter what. But they didn't HAVE to say anything. So, who knows...maybe the first 75% of the performance was so awesome that no cared that the end sucked.

Kelly Clarkson sang "Because of You" and it almost made me cry....until Kevin made some comment about people in the audience not really clapping or something...it was just an offhand comment but it ruined my Kelly Clarkson moment. So I snapped at him some ridiculous response that was 1. totally uncalled for and 2. too embarrassing to print here. I know she's an American Idol-propelled pop star, but that song has some pretty powerful lyrics. It's like you are just DYING to know what the back story to that one is. I'm going to go and google that right now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!