click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - 2006-02-02
a life story
In keeping with the "sharing the private thoughts of my students" theme from last entry, I thought I'd share this tidbit, too.

I have these two girls, who I will call Alexianaleeha and Shanananana. They always fight over this one computer in the computer lab. They will RUN to get to the door first and "call" the computer. As in "I call the computer by the door!" THen a fight ensues.

"Miss Jessi, I was here first."

"Miss Jessi, I called it."

I always say nothing, open the door, and "take" the computer myself. Then they're both mad. Ha!

Well, yesterday, they beat me to it because there was a parent who wanted to talk to me about whether or not their child was "being a good example to the other students." Umm. He hasn't stolen anything, beaten anyone up or threatened my life, so yeah, sure he's a good example. He doesn't speak and usually puts his head down on his desk with his gigantic coat hood covering his whole head and is often mistaken for just a coat draped over a chair, but sure, I'll give him the thumbs up.

So Alexianaleeha and Shanananana are kind of pushing and shoving each other with both of their behinds vying for more chair space. I finally say "OK, what is the big deal about this computer. The computers are ALL the SAME."

Well, apparently the issue is that they are both writing their "life stories" on this computer. I don't know who copied off who, but they each have a Word document on the hard drive with their "life stories" on them.

They go on and on about how hard they've worked on these...

"I spent four days doing mine!"

"Mine is longer!"

"Well I'm almost DONE."

I ask them if I can magically get one of their documents onto another machine if that will solve the problem. They say "Yes" grudgingly.

With no disks and little technical know-how, the only way I can think of doing this is to attach one of the documents as an email to myself (neither of them have email addresses) and then bring it up on another computer and save it to that one.

So I did. And I couldn't resist reading it. So, here it is...Shanananana's life story. (She is 12 and in 7th grade)

this is the story of my life blah blah blah blahhhhhhhhhhh . I mean my life wasn ,t all bad .Ihad some friend s ,but some friends reaiy wwas not my friends though.
althouth ,Ihad fun those I had.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!