click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:39 p.m. - 2006-02-01
What is...Beef?
I hate to seem really white and out of the loop here, but does anyone know what the word "beef" means to young, rapper-wannabe kids?

I have this new student in my tutoring class who shall remain nameless and he was very enthusiastically writing in this notebook, which of course I had to take a peek at. Well, it seems he's a "rapper" and a "writer" and one of his "songs" was all about how he had Beef on his mind. And the song was entitled something like "When Death Comes Raining Down." And Beef was capitalized. And at one point, when he was talking to someone I heard him say "So I was Beefin' wit my boyz and this girl comes us and I was like get tha f*** out..."

I was a little concerned with this "beef" theme, but I couldn't see myself sqatting down next to him and being like "Hey there, fella, you want to talk about the Beef" or something. I should at least know what Beef is to strike up this conversation. Like what if that means some private body part or something? I need to do some research.

OK, a quick search at Urban Dictionary leads me to believe there are three definitions for this term. And my suspicions were amazingly correct. Beef - to have a grudge or start one with another person Beef - Violence usually involving a fistfight Beef - reference to the male genitals So, because of that last one, I will NOT be bringing this subject up to anyone under the age of 21. Ever. No beef, none for me thanks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!