click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 p.m. - 2006-01-18
chef jessi
I was recently added to a recipe-exchanging email chain, and I decided to send the person on my list a copy of my recipe (which is more of a rough idea and estimation...I don't actually do recipes) for Vegetarian Chilli. It really is quite tasty, the ingredients are pretty cheap and it works for so many occasions...parties, family dinners, indoor, outdoor, stand up, sit down, etc. so I thought I'd include it here for anyone who may be interested.

J-do's Veggie Chilli

1 zuchini
1 yellow squash
2 fresh tomatoes
1 small red onion
4 sections of a garlic clove
1 red pepper
1 yellow pepper
2 cans of dark red kidney beans
1 can of light red kidney beans
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 small can of tomatoe paste
1 small can of corn
garlic salt
cracked black pepper
1-2 cups of chicken or beef or vegetable stock (boullion cubes dissolved in water works too)

Brown/saute 1/2 of chopped onion and sliced garlic sections in about 3 tablespoons of olive oil
Add canned ingredients (RINSE THEM. This will minimize people getting gassy from the beans. Seriously.)
Cut up and add fresh veggies and second half of onion

Simmer on the stove for 30 minutes or longer (up until 2 hours if desired) or put all ingredients into a crock pot. Add chicken/beef/vegetable stock a little at a time as it all simmers. Add black pepper and garlic salt to taste.

Add Tobasco, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper if you like it hot!

Serves 4-6 people

I suggest serving with corn bread or artisan bread such as sour dough or whole grain and butter. Grated sharp cheddar is nice to have on hand, too.

This is a very inexpensive option for a casual dinner party or to serve during a football game. These ingredients, assuming you already have the spices, hot sauce and olive oil amount to only about 13 bucks, plus another five for the bread and cheese. This reciple is very healthy too! The only fat comes from the olive oil and that means the dish is free of saturated fat and omitting the corn can easily make it very low-carb.

If you're serving meat eaters, just brown ground beef or turkey (3/4 of a pound to 1 pound) with the onions and garlic until no longer pink and add the other ingredients. This will increase your number of servings to 6-7. Similarly, f you like tofu, you can cut 2 packages of firm tofu into cubes, brown them in the olive oil, onions and garlic and dump them in but I prefer this recipe without tofu.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!