click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:45 a.m. - 2006-01-05
rate it!
I noticed on Seth's blog (See "Argabright" below) that he said "good riddance to 2005." For the last two or three years, with this past year being excluded, I have said pretty much the same thing about whatever the previous year was. I recall rating 2003 a big fat 3 on a scale of 1-10 and 2004, well, let's not talk about that. It was off the charts in the most negative way possible. But this year, this past year that just left us...well, for those who have sat around together for the "let's rate the past year" conversation, particularly that one we had in Seattle at that Pizza place, I have to say, I give 2005 a solid 8. It's high because of Kevin and Kelly and Marc and Amanda and Tolner. It's high because being near my family is generally a very good thing. It's not higher because I am highly unsatisfied and frustrated with my career and level of compensation.

The thing that's funny about 2003 and 2004...is that all I really recall about them, the Seattle years, is good times. Seriously. I think of happy hour with Kelly or Holly or Bethany. Driving around with Bob. Sitting outside Victrola with Garret and Andy. Camping on the Penninsula. Dancing at Neighbours with my gay entourage. Exclusive parties with weird art and extreme fashionistas and multiple DJs with Gabriela where names had to appear on lists to be granted access, and apparently ours WERE. I think of Shopper's Paradise and birthday parties and long drawn out dinners. The Pinata and cheesecake on my birthday especially. I think of whiskey, because I never had it before Seattle and it has become an occasional but dear friend. I think about learning to cook with ginger in Diana's kitchen and hunkering down for our weekly viewing of a taped episode of Amazing Race. I think of Pike Market and feeling important or local or something because we knew someone who worked at the fish throwing stand.

I do not think about the arguments. The heartbreaks. The lonliness. I do not think about the pastor who made everyone feel like and idiot and the pastor who decided to leave his wife for the church secreatary. I do not think about being made to move out of my apartment and my old roommate's hurt feelings. I do not think about anyone having depression. I do not think about fighting with Bob or Keith and Cj...ok, sometimes I think about the fight with Keith and Cj....does anyone still talk to them? I do not think about Matt and Kelly leaving and how hard that was. I do not think about my acquaintence who killed himself.

It's very strange how we (choose to?) remember things. I doubt my memory is very accurate, actually. I notice that interestingly, as much as I value my career, I apparently don't factor it all that much into the mix when rating the year. I had a "successful" ish job in Seattle when I left, making about twice what I make now. But I rated the year very very low, forctoring that in. This past year has been pretty disappointing in regard to my career, and yet it's actually been my best year to date. So, I'm not sure how exactly I come to these numbers. Maybe you aren't either...

But, even so....how do you rate 2005 and why?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!