click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2006-01-05
boo-hoo
So if you have a "Gmail" account, perhaps you've noticed this. Gmail, for anyone who has been on a different planet for the last 3 years, is email by Google. It is lovely. You can search your emails by keyword and it's all organized so nicely.

But my point is this: the ads on it are targeted specifically to you, based on key words in your emails. So if you have an email conversation with your friend about this great new shampoo you've tried, you'll notice, you get ads about hair products or whatever. It's a little bit too Big Brother-esque, but I really don't notice the ads very much and only occasionally does one stand out.

Well, I've been emailing with Sarah Lozecki, mostly about trying to get together, saying Happy New Year, etc. And the following ad appeared on the page:

Elder Services
Somerville Journal - 8 hours ago
Monday, Jan. 9:Fish nuggets, lemon butter sauce, macaroni and ...

Umm. What? The menu for a nursing home or something? How strange.

In other news, it turns out the becoming a counselor may be one of the world's most complex processes. I honestly don't understand how normal people complete these processes without having a personal assistant to 1. fill out the mountains of paperwork. 2. meet all of the various deadlines. 3. advise them on making the most prudent possible decisions and 4. help them ignore people who are unbelievably discouraging throughout the process. I'm hiring someone for this position. I think Megan Jerse might be the woman for the job. Or maybe Maddog?

Today is a day where I need some love, so if you have time to send some, don't hesitate. I promise, it will be well-received. Kevin had to remind me last night that I am special and important to a lot of people because I kept saying the following phrase over and over: "I just suck."

I know, boo-hoo, wah-wah, poor me. No, as I promised Kevin I would cease doing, I am not going to sit around and feel sorry for myself. I've already pulled myself up by the emotional boot straps and now I'm just in a bad mood as opposed to the "I quit everything and I'm becoming a McDonalds cashier because that's all I'm qualified to do oh and by the way no one loves me" club. Yeah, I'm over that part. Mostly because my boyfriend delivers the most gentle yet firm ass kicking ever.

...aaaand, going to a country club to schmooze...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!