click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:52 a.m. - 2005-12-16
My Goats
SO I have this friend, Mike Oates, who I haven't seen for years (is it really that long...sheesh.) and whose name, if you say it fast sounds like "My Goats" and who is one of the funniest people I have ever met. His wife April is pretty funny too and together they are simply a barrel of laughs.

Well, it seems Mike has recorded some music that is pretty hilarious. Mike has been involved with many music projects of the um, "parody" variety. Is that what we call this stuff?

See here: http://oak.cats.ohiou.edu/~md366796/TheLazerFalcon/

This particular project is sort of like...I don't know...along the lines of a parody of John Couger Melloncamp, maybe? At least the song, "I Go By" is. "Falling Star" is just amazing. I worry that this is only funny for a small segment of the population, but hopefully anyone who associates with me can appreciate this to a certain extent. Part of the reason why none of that whole "Michigan" debacle didn't work out is because none of those people had much of a sense of humor at all, but this sort of thing completely escaped them. I think the whole humor genre of "things that don't make any sense and are funny because of that" just elluded those folks.

I was laughing out loud at my laptop at work to these songs. It's always uncomofortable when you are laughing hard at something other people won't get and they ask you what's so funny. I mean, my 70 year old co-worker just isn't going to understand why this song I'm listening ot is funny. It's just not going to be on her radar. So sharing it with her will just be awkward. Not sharing it with her and not telling her why seems rude and secretive. And not sharing it with her and telling her why I'm not sharing it with her seems like I'm saying that I think she's an idiot. Which is not true.

I suppose this supports the case for "Stop goofing off at work and sell more memberships!" But come on. It's friday and it's practically Christmas.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!