click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:13 a.m. - 2005-11-29
one thumb up
The Steelers lost miserably and it is raining. Yuck.

However, I will be in the Bahamas this time next week, so you will hear no more complaining about the weather from me for a while anyway.

Yesterday was a weird day. A lot of little things kind of came to a head but they all ended well. Communication is a good thing and after yesterday my confidence in friendships was strengthened somewhat. For a while there I had been thinking that it might not be possible to encounter conflict and still sustain a relationship. But I have good news! Some people have not completely lost their minds and disagreements can be worked through.

And now, for some brief movie reviews because Kevin and I saw three movies in 6 days last week:

Walk the Line: Johnny Cash is legendary and the story of him and his wife June Carter is scandelous and beautiful and complex. The movie is pretty damned good. Kevin did not have high expectations, having distaste for both Joaquin Phoenix (whose parents seem to have had a distaste for phonics) and Reese Witherspoon. However we were both impressed to varying degree with their acting and I was impressed with their singing, considering neither of them have ever sung professionally and they did their own singing for the movie. Go see this movie.

Rent: Kelly Cooke disagrees with me on this one, but I say DO NOT go see this movie. I saw it live on Broadway and was moderately impressed although hype really does have a distructive property to it. Anything that is hyped up generally disappoints me. The movie was painful the watch. I guess I just don't like that whole overacting thing that is unavoidable when a musical becomes a movie. I guess I just don't like people singing to eachother. Kelly, on the other hand said, and I quote "I like that. In fact, I wish life was like that." So, next time you see Kelly, please sing her something. But if you do it to me, I will poke you in the eyeball.

Harry Potter: No spoilers here, so don't worry. Oh, wait, if you care in the slightest, surely you've read it and already know what happens. Well, I did not like it nearly as well as the third one. But it was goodish. Kind of. I guess I liked it. The third one was the best, though. Bring that director back, eh? That dude who Kevin tells me is Mexican and does mainly art films. My boyfriend knows everything, like the correct pronunciation of obscure actors' names. This is both impressive and annoying because I'm used to being the smarty pants.

I heard something at a meeting the other day about me getting a raise. It will probably be like 3 cents a week.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!