click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 a.m. - 2005-11-16
OLD
My day began most amusingly yesterday when I screwed up the simple process of getting a phone number to one of my reporters. I accidentally read off the wrong number from the chicken scratch covered surface that is my desk calendar. I got an email from her later that said "Jessi, call that number you just gave me...lol." Hmm....ok.

So I did. And it's amazing. It won't translate well in description, (and sadly, I just called and it is no longer there but at least three of the people I emailed the number to yesterday called it and got the same thing) But to give you an idea...basically, it rings once it's the sound of a man who sounds kind of like Rob Rennich singing "lalalalalala" very enthusiastically for about 5-7 seconds and then the "operator lady" says "The number you have called has been disconnected." Unfortunately now if just says "Your call cannot be completed. Please hang up and try again."

When I began this blog entry, it was with the hope that the number had the same message and that if you emailed me, you could call it, so forgive me if this is more than a little anti-climactic.

The funny thing about the number is that I wrote it down on my desk calendar at some point. It's my handwriting. I have no idea whose number it might be or how I got it. It will forever be a mystery, I suppose.

In other news: Last night I made corned beef and cabbage. It made me feel old. That is the kind of meal moms (or in my case, dads) make. It was good for eating, but it kind of depressed me, honestly. I imagined years and years of corned beef eating and television watching and medication and complaining and aches and pains and coupons and and and it upset me a little bit.

It wasn't the company. Kevin is always a welcomed presence. It was the corned beef that scared me. I have to eat something youngish today. Something with pesto and tofu and goat cheese.

In other less paranoid news, Kevin and I are going to see the Rockette's Christmas Spectacular with my parents. The funny thing is, it was my dad's idea. He saw it in NYC and MUCH to his surprise, he really liked it. So, that's where I'll be on saturday if anyone is looking for me. And that activity, while I am MOST DEFINITELY looking forward to it, feels kind of old to me as well.

I dont' know what my problem is. It's not like I'd rather be at a frat party or something. I think I'm just inching toward a different stage of adulthood, which involves things like a serious, committed relationship, corned beef, "the future", domestic concerns like if the dryer is working well enough, and real vacations and maybe hopefully possibly a job that pays me enough such that I only have to have one. These are good things. They are just....big in my mind some days.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!