click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:12 p.m. - 2005-11-07
crazy popcorn
I think someone tried to kill me. And it was either my boyfriend or Orville Reidenbacher.

So, I decided to take some popcorn for lunch today. I brought a bag of it from Kevin's house and about fifteen minutes ago, stuck it in the microwave and entered 3 minutes and went back to my office. I heard it beep and turn off, but I was in the middle of something. A few minutes later, my coworker say "Hey, did somebody burn something?" I sigh, figuring the popcorn might have burned a tiny bit, but also thinkin git was weird because usually you put popcorn in for 2.5-5 minutes AND our microwave is old and usually takes twice as long to heat things.

I come around the corner into a fog of BLACK smoke, wafting out of the tiny kitchen. I mean, it was really bad. And being a person who has experienced more than her share of fires and such things, it is always a tiny bit chilling, to smell that smell. I was afraid, from the amount of smoke that the microwave must be in flames. For the first time, I was grateful for our back door, in case we needed an escape route.

When my boss and I finally made our way into the kitchen to discover the microwave NOT on fire, and opened the door, we found the poor, sad bag of popcorn, reduced to a block of something that resembles coal.

Both doors and the few windows we have are open and fresh air is making a good effort at chasing away the stinky smoke. A number of our neighboring business owners have come over to make sure we aren't all dying in a fire.

3 minutes. How is this possible? I mean, I could understand a few burnt kernels. But this was crazy. Almost suspect.

I am convinced that either the famed bespectacled popcorn maker or my adorable boyfriend have it out for me. I will be changing my name and leaving the country. I will only communicate by blog from now on.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!