click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 a.m. - 2005-10-25
let it snow
There should be a support group for people who have significant others in grad school. There could be discussion topics like "How Not to be a Pain in the Arse to your Boyfriend when he is Stressed Out of his Gourd." or "How to Stay out of the Way but not be Distant in a Way That Appears to be Manipulative and Attention Seeking." or "How to Let the Little Things (Like Him Not Saying Enough About Your New Haircut) Go."

Don't worry guys, I'll get this figured out and then write a book on it.

Speaking of books, did you know Brooke and I are writing one? We suck at working on it consistently but it has some real potential. Anyone know any publishers? We'd love to get it published through Relavent Books but we should probably have a plan B. Ha...there's a little inside joke there...

Let's switch subjects and have a little product review. Now that I am in the Short Hair Club, I have new products to gush about and of course some that have nothing to do with hair length. Get your pencils out (or if you're like me, your ultra thin Sharpie markers.)

Fructis by Garnier styling products. I high recommend the "Shake Effect" spray wax/gel. Fabulous for that "piecy, messed up look" without making it sticky like those pomade products.

Angel Perfumes by Thierry Mugler. I hesitate to share this one because it is my new "thing" and I don't want everyone on earth wearing it...and God knows everyone on earth reads this blog and follows my suggestions...riiiight. Anyway, this perfume is intoxicatingly delicious. I think they put crack in it. There are several fragrances in the product line, including Innocence, Violette and Alien. The original is great, too. They are expensive, I warn you. I have connections that supply me with giant tester-size bottles, but if you're short on cash (who of us isn't??) you'll want to put it on your Christmas list. And if you're a guy, you would do well to find this and surprise your girlfriend/wife. Trust me, everyone loves this perfume.

The dark roast coffee at Panera Bread. Who wouldda thunk a chain sandwich shop would make kick-ass coffee? Well, they do.

I've already raved a bit about H & M but if you forgot, I'll just remind you. They have great, fairly high quality, mid to low priced clothes. From classic long-sleeved tees and jeans to crazy sparkly trendy things. And purses! And undies! (Notice I DID NOT use the P-word.)

Here is a handy idea that probably a lot of people already do, but in case you haven't thought of it: I keep a container of baby wipes in my car. Now, they sell the same exact thing and call them any range of things from "bathroom wipes" to "facial wipes" to "Handi Wipes." It's all basically the same thing, and the baby wipes are the cheapest. Just buy them and rip off the Huggies label so no one thinks you are hiding an illegitimate child in your trunk, and use them for the following: When you spill your coffee all over the gear shift. When you have raccoon eyes from an emotional moment or just a long day. When you finish eating an apple on the way to work and your hands have that apple-y stickiness thing going on. When you walk in mud while wearing your high heeled boots and now your heels have a film of mud on them. To freshen up a bit if you've gotten a little sweaty. There are other uses. Use your imagination.

Now, I have one last thing to say. IT IS SNOWING.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!