click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:17 a.m. - 2005-10-21
countdown...
Yesterday was pretty hectic. I had a breakfast meeting, had a mentoring session with a high school student, visited the funeral home for a viewing (my parents' neighbor died), met Haley for some sangria, heard conflicting stories from Haley and her fiance about the beginnings of their relationship, made some business arrangements for an event that I just realized I can't even go to, almost ran out of gas, was 23 minutes late to meet Matt and Amanda, called Kevin to tell him about all of this, unknowingly hit some button on my phone that put him on hold or something, and was completely convinced he fell asleep while I was rambling on about my day and my various analysises (plural of analysis?) and thoughts of the day's events...I mean, can you imagine? Falling asleep while listening to ME??? So, of course I was like "Kevin! Honey!" shouting, to wake him up, to no avail, probably waking up half my apartment building...meanwhile, I had hit "multi-call" somehow, which basically puts the person you are talking to on hold so you can call someone else.

Do we really need all of these features? In my 5 years of cell phone ownership, I have used 3-way calling exactly once. I have used call-forwarding exactly 0 times. I have used "numeric pages" exactly 0 times. I kind of hate it but I think text messaging is unavoidable...people just a couple years younger than me/us text message like mad. Constantly.

Actually, last night, someone text messaged me and it was very appropriate. 1. because I was in the middle of 8 things and it would have been rude to answer the phone and 2. because I was convinced said person was dead as the result of a domestic dispute. Fortunately, said person is alive and well and will be accompanyin gme tomorrow to.....


THE U2 CONCERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tickets are in hand. Plans are made. Bono and I will be in the same room in approximately 35 hours.

Part of me wants to do some elaborate thing so I can make him notice me or hire me or talk to me, like have some huge sign or wear some crazy t-shirt or sneak back stage or something. But! I have decided that Bono and I have to seperate our business and pleasure. The concert is pleasure. Perhaps the single greatest pleasure of the past four years, since the last concert, with the exception of anything involving my amazing boyfriend, who just might be the best person in the whole world...official results haven't been announced yet, but he is the front runner with a fairly wide margin between him and Bono, who has long held the position and is none to pleased with being ousted back in April. He was photographed in June flipping the bird at The Sheraton, where Kevin is employed.

Anyway, the concert is going to be awesome and I don't want to taint it with anything that could possibly be disappointing, like waiting outside in the rain for two hours after the concert, only to see their tour bus with tinted windows pass us by without so much as a wave. It would kind of ruin the amazingness of it all. My cousin Greg saw it two nights ago in D.C. and he said it was the best rock concert he's ever seen. Coming from an opinionated Republican, that's saying something.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!