click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 a.m. - 2005-10-19
what does Kevin think?
I love my new hair. I do. However, it has brought back into my world the concept of "bad hair day." See, with long curly hair, you don't really worry about it. It pretty much always looks the same. As my hair has for about 15 years or so. Hence the recent amputation.

Now. Don't get me wrong. I definitely dig the new do. And so do other people, which is Quite a relief...the words "funky" "sophisticated" and "uber-sex" have been used. These are good. The hair cut was a good idea. Period. But! It's got potential to "go it's own way". I had a small crisis with it this morning...fortunately Amanda eventually comandeered the bathroom and therefore the mirror before I wasted half my life away, obsessing over texture and where the part should fall...but I think it's ok. It's all about messing it up. Touseled. That is what we're going for here. This haircut is definitely on the hip side of the line, but if styled improperly could definitely venture into lesbianic soccer mom territory. Therefore! A trip to Eckert was in order. It's dangerous that we live one block away from Eckert but what is great is that they had an amazing sale just for me. It practically said "Welcome J-do!" at the entrance. Two product lines of mid-level brands (Fructis and Pantene) were all tragic victims of "Price cuts!", signaled by the eye catching yellow tag. Yes. Yes! I am now dedicated, and we are talking spokesmodel-level-dedication to Fructis Shake Effects spray wax gel. Is this brand going out of business? If so, I will buy the remaining stock.

Other things about my hair (is this painfully narcissistic??) that I have noticed/realized:

When you chop off about 3/4 of your hair, it is no longer necessary to use an entire heaping handful of conditioner. This is wasteful.

Wrapping a towel around your head, turban-style is kind of silly too. I was at a total loss this morning. I stood there, dripping for a while until I made myself think about what people with short hair in the movies do when they get out of the shower. Ah! They put the towel over the head and sort of rub vigorously. Ok!

I have about 394 hair elastics that are now completely useless. Does one save these in cased they go back to long hair land?

My co-worker, whom we will call Polly, is not someone who touches a lot. You know, not in any really notable way...just, she's not a toucher. However, she keeps touching my hair. Now, me being an avid giver and receiver of general touching activities, this is not a problem. It's just kind of funny. And she keeps saying I should be a QVC model. I am not sure what this means, but I'll have my agent look into it.

Speaking of modeling, last night at the coffee shop, a man with a camera came in and started taking pictures of me. Apparently he is doing some project where he takes photos in coffee shops around Pittsburgh and then paints them in a realistic style. Then he gives a print of the painting to the coffee shop and sells the painting. Anyway, he just kept snapping pictures of me. Reading the paper, talking to the barista, sipping my Hibiscus tea. It must be the hair.

Last night when I was working at the after school program, I was sitting with one of my students, a boy of about 16. I asked him if he liked my new do and he joked that he hated it. Another teacher came over and asked about my hair and if I liked it. I said I did and she then asked "Does Kevin like it?" Kevin is my boyfriend, of course, and I told her I didn't know because he hadn't seen it yet, but that I had sent him a picture of it, via email. She looked at me strangely and I felt a little weird, like maybe this whole haircut thing is too big of a deal to me and I must sound really obsessive...sending pictures of myself to people, etc. I started to try to change the subject but then I realized what she'd meant. The boy in my class who was sitting with me is named Kevin. It probably sounded very odd when I said "Oh, I don't know...I haven't actually seen him since I got it cut. But I did send him and a few other people an email with a picture of it that my roommate took." That took a little explaining. Kevin B., my student, just shook his head.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!