click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:18 a.m. - 2005-10-04
The children are our future...
So I was browsing cnn.com and saw a headline that said something like "Actor, Nipsey Russell dies at age 80" or something.

Nipsey. Nipsey???

Who cares that he died. The story should be about his name being freaking Nipsey! There was no mention of his name origin and it was not in "quotes" so we can reasonably conclude that about 80 years ago, some person actually named their child NIPSEY. Nipsey, is a man. A black man who lived until he was 80. It was hard enough for a brother to make it back in the day to have to deal with all of the crap that would inevitably come with having a name like NIPSEY. What a guy this Nipsey fellow must have been. He became a famous actor. Just think. If his name hadn't been Nipsey...if it had been something like Joe or Mike or Dave or even something a little lame like Curtis, he probably would have been president!

People, please think about what you name your children. PLEASE. Someone recently told me of a person they either met or whose name they read and that name was Dick Cox. I mean...COME ON.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!