click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:28 a.m. - 2005-10-03
A delicious weekend, especially sunday night
I put almost exactly 1,000 miles on my car this weekend. Indiana, where I drove to, is pretty boring. But seeing your friend really happy is reason enough to go. Congratulations to Rob and Erin.

Other things that made the trip worth it:

Seeing Will Deaton arrive at the wedding in a t-shirt and cut off khakis carrying a pumpkin, which was his wedding gift to the Rennichs. The pumpkin had been written on in pen to say happy wedding or whatever.

Spending 11 hours in the car with Matt Cooke. When you have two people who know and like each other very much but who don't hang out very often, in the same small space for a long time, some very interesting conversations transpire. A lot of songs are sung. Slam, by Onyx was probably my favorite. We consumed a lot of bad coffee, and things like Doritos and Donuts, which neither of us eat very often and said at least 17 times how great Kelly Cooke is. We witnessed a trucker buy more 1-liters of Mountain Dew than he could carry. We considered buying a doll that was about the size of, oh, say, Mae Klingler, for 20.00 but decided against it. I think this may have been a bad decision.

I missed my boyfriend like crazy. Hugs of the "I haven't seen you for four days" variety are really really nice.

If you haven't heard the song "Dr. Worm" by They Might Be Giants, you are most definitely missing out.

Speaking of missing out, I assure you, every single one of you are missing out when you go to Subway. I am going to give you my secret combination for the best Subway sandwich you could ever hope to consume. It is not a menu item; I made it up. Pencils ready...

-Honey Oat Bread
-Chicken strips (sometimes called chunks...these are grilled, not friend. Inspect to make sure you are getting the right thing. This is important. These should be warm already OR they will heat them up when you order.
-Shredded cheddar cheese
-Chipotle Southwest Sauce (absolutely crucial)
-lettuce
-tomato
-yellow banana peppers

I promise, if this sounds the slightest bit good to you, you might cry it's so delicious. I want one right now, in fact. But I have yummy leftover chicken pasta from this little Italian place Kevin took me to last night.

I got a new laptop today at work. Supposedly my boss wants me to go "out in the field" more. I'm not sure what she wants me to do out there exactly, but hey, I can certainly sit and work in Starbucks, armed with membership packets and a Grande Skim Vanilla Latte or a Venti Iced Coffee with 2 pumps of sweetener (instead of the usual 6 pumps which is really just WAY too much) and be pretty damned content. I know, Starbucks both rocks and sucks, equally. However, sadly, regarding the region I work in, Starbucks is about as cool as it gets.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!