click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:24 a.m. - 2005-09-16
slight loss of composure
The sickness has migrated almost exclusively to my head. It is 6am and I don't really have to get up for another hour but I can't sleep. The NyQuil Liqui-caps have worn off an though my body is tired there is no sleep left to be had.

So last night Kevin and I went to the funeral home. We waited in line for about twenty minutes, visited with some family and were about to leave. I was talking with this woman who is a friend of my uncle's when suddenly, due to my sickness I had this horrible tickle in my throat. My voice went totally hoarse and I kept trying to excuse myslf so I could rush over to the water fountain to get a drink. You know that kind of tickle...it's just awful...you can't really breathe. I was totally flustered, so I think I came off as a little rude but I finally managed to say goodbye and made a bee-line for the water fountain. A woman was standing right in front of it and she did at the last second move out of the way which was good because if not I was going to physically move her out of the way myself. I bent over, got a long drink and stood up. I sighed with relief and apologized to the stranger standing next to the water fountain, about 15 feet away from the body of a lady who died an untimely death, with this poor choice of words: "Oh, I'm sorry, I had a tickle in my throat...I thought I was going to die."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!