click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 p.m. - 2005-09-03
should I stay or should I go?
OK, the supplies and security are getting there. I feel better now. (That's what's important here, me feeling better, right? You know what I mean, I hope.)I am going to make an unexpected and unusual statement and say that I am kind of ok with Bush the last 24 hours or so. I mean, he actually said things like "We're not doing enough." and "This is unacceptable." I mean, normally he just smiles and says shit like "People are out there working hard." And, the stuff did finally get there. It wasn't fastest enough. That is totally unacceptable. And I'm not sure there is a good excuse. Rob made a good point, about the aid being at he ready for a recent-ish Florida hurricane where the preseident's brother hangs out or golfs or whatever he does.

I have felt, starting sometime last night that he president was being sincere, reacting appropriately. But this could just be my emotional rsponse. I notice that when collective tragedy hits....9/11, this hurricane...I desire to be able to trust and follow a leader. I WANT to trust the president. I WANT to believe he's sincere. I WANT to trust that he's aware that he's accountable to God. I WANT him to be a good man, leading this country. I'm not at all convinced he is...but I want him to be.

I hear you CAN go down there if you want to. I'm thinking about doing this. Lot's of complications, not the least of which is work....however, Contact the Red Cross, I think, if you're available and interested. Or ask Matt Cooke.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!