click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 a.m. - 2005-09-01
The Sthave Cafe
Things I thought of today on my drive to work:

Neck tattoos really might be the least attractive thing in the world. When I'm in line at the gas station and some ghetto mama in front of me has "TYRONE" scrawled across her jugular in red ink, I SO BAD want to inquire if he's still around. It seems that name-tats are the kiss of death for relationships, so no Kevin, no matter how much you beg, I am not getting your name tattooed around my belly button.

The region where I work and which I drive through when I am travelling between my parents house, Kevin's house and my job has some really awful marquees. One oil-change garage has a sign out front that reads "$19.99 Tranny Service." Let's just say you could not get away with that in Seattle because you would have a line of diva cross-dressers coming to see exactly what you were offering as your "service."

There was also a sign in front of a house that looked like maybe possibly might have a small restaurant inside. It said Sthave Cafe. What an "ethnic" name (which, I asdsume would indicate an "ethnic" restaurant) for this area, I thought. Mind you, thi swas a mere block away from the "Tranny Service" place and a junk yard with a large pitbull patrolling the gate area. Not exactly a "cultural district" in the traditional sense, anyway. I sat at the red light, looking at the sign and it's advertisement of 3 Pierogies for 2 dollars, trying to place the origin of a name like "Sthave". How is that pronounced, I thought.

Stah-Ha-vee?

Stah-vee?

After some more looking, I realized that the name of the place is actually 5th Ave. Cafe. The sign person evidently didn't have a "5" and so they used an "S" instead. They also didn't bother to put a space between the "Sth" and "ave." Classy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!