click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:30 a.m. - 2005-08-31
I hope a house falls on top of you
First of all, guestbook signers, I enjoy your comments immensely but if there is any more talk about Russian literature, I might have to throw up on my copy of the Pittsburgh Business Times.

I talked on the phone this morning to this business owner guy, who I am pretty sure is convinced that he is more important than God. At one point in the conversation he actually said this to me after a long, heavy sigh "Jessi, it's not an issue of money...to me, the fee amount is miniscule...it's an issue of time. Time, MY time is precious and scarce." I havge to admit I lost my cool a tiny bit, as I have a tendency to do when people act like they are more important than they are. I said (after sighing heavily just to be a little bit bratty) "OH, Mr. B_____, I'm sorry, you must be mistaken, I have no intention of inviting you to be a BOARD MEMBER, which would, actually, require a time investment. I was merely suggesting you consider MEMBERSHIP to our organization which requires just the miniscule fee and a time investment of absolutely nothing.

Maybe that's why we're all so nice and sensible...because we're not wildly successful yet. I have strong desire to be successful, but not at the cost of losing my sensibilities and acquiring a disasterously oversized ego such that one feels the need to make the membership director of the chamber of commerce feel like a piece of poo.

And good morning to you, too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!