click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:04 p.m. - 2005-08-29
Untouchable
The week ahead feels almost like vacation. Only one job to contend with. I feel like leaving work at 4pm and being done for the whole day is like lounging on a beach in Barbados compared to leaving work at 3:30 to fight traffic for a half hour, ascend a steep gravel road to arrive at a semi-creepy and very remotely and rurally located office that my supervisor routinely stressed as a "private location." He felt convinced that his competitors would be held off if the business kept a low profile. 4 hours of thanks but no thanks, hang ups, busy signals, answering machines and a couple scattered nibbles of interest later...I would descend the scary driveway, and fight traffic for an hour to get home, shove some macaroni in my face and collapse into bed only to wake up 7 hours later to start the whole thing again.

A weight has been lifted. I now have free time with which to read and exercise and socialize. But just for two weeks until I become an after school tutor and general chaos minimizer at the local after school program for low income kids...

I have a file folder titled "prospects" that holds business cards, flyers and scribbled pieces of paper containing information about people I am in the process of getting to join the chamber of commerce. When I have down time, I pull out the file folder and make calls to these people and say things like "Hey Suzie, great to talk to you...well, we are really pleased that you've decided to join the chamber...if you could just send in the check I can go ahead and get you started here so you you can begin enjoying some of our best member benefits...." Well, I pulled the file out today, bracing myself for some good old fashioned bill collection conversations ...and inexplicably, in the pile, was a small photo and bio blurb about....Kevin Costner.

Frankly, I think he'd make a fabulous addition to the membership services committee.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!