click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:37 a.m. - 2005-08-10
Where a kid can be a kid
Hey, I updated the Social Justice Blog.

<--- Clicky clicky.

(You're right Megan, I wouldn't say that out loud.)

Today I am going to Chuck E. Cheese. With a five year old. I am really freakin' excited. I mean, Pizza. Games. Prizes. A huge mouse and all of his scary furry friends? This is going to be amazing. If only I had some acid to drop and was the sort of person who dropped acid and wasn't taking a five year old with me. I would venture to say that would be pretty life altering.

Seriously though. My Kennywood experience with the same small child was amazing. Seeing the wonders of a large amusement park through the eyes of a reasonably adventurous kindergardener is really something. I think Chuck E. Cheese is going to be equally exciting.

I recall being little and loving pizza a lot. But this place was so effing fun that I had to be dragged out of the pit of plastic balls to endure force feeding for 30 seconds before I wriggled away for more ski-ball action.

Were you good at ski-ball. I totally sucked at it, but insisted on wasting an insane amount of tokens (I guess they call them tokens because it doesn't seem like you're really spending money) to get those little paper tickets which one could trade in for...oh...say...an eraser shaped like a strawberry or some shit that costs about 7 cents in K-Mart but that felt like winning a new car for some reason.

I'm actually a little apprehensive. I'm afraid she won't eat her pizza and she'll pass out from sheer undernourished exhaustion afer two hours of climbing in that tunnel thing. I'm afraid she'll suck at ski-ball and throw a tantrum. I'm afraid she'll not have enough tickets to get a stuffed mouse or whatever she'll decide she wants. I'm really afraid the tantrum will be so bad that I'll have to make threats and follow through on them. "If you do not sit down RIGHT NOW, we are LEAVING." I hate following through but, and if you know me AT ALL, you'll know that I, not one to be manipulated, always do. I mean, who in their right mind wants to leave Chuck E. Cheese early?? Certainly not me!

Don't get me wrong...this kid we're taking, she's a good kid. But even good little children can be swayed to the side of evil with the right mix of sugar, endless choices and non-endless funds or time. And then Miss Jessi has to put the smack down. And Mr. Kevin who is what we, as his girlfriend, affectionately refer to as a pushover for anything remotely cute or apparently helpless, will be of little assistance in this situation.

Hopefully all will go smoothly and I won't have some horrific tale of tears and early departure to tell you about tomorrow. Hopefully there will be laughing and pizza eating and winning of perfect prizes and playing with the other well-behaved children and a moment or two of Miss Jessi gazing adoringly at Mr. Kevin as he unwraps little Alison's straw, thinking he might just be the world's most wonderful person ever and....well, let's face it. It seems my purpose in life is to have shockingly embarrassing, astoundingly horrifying experiences so I can tell you all about them. Stay tuned.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!