click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 a.m. - 2005-08-09
Fullfilling my fantasies
Kevin plays fantasy football. I know some other people that do this. It seems kind of fun in a guy sort of way. So, we were talking about it the other day and he mentions the people he's playing with and my ears perk up at a female name.

Wait.

Girls can play TOO?!?!

HOLD. UP.

I mean, I know we CAN...but there are some things women just gracefully bow out of because we're A. not interested or B. allowing the men in our lives room to have the opportunity to engage in male-ish activities with other males that make them happy such as 10 hour games of Samarai Swords or Axis and Allies or a long afternoon of various "first person shooter" video games. There are additional, more athletic, versions of this such as basketball Saturdays and 120 mile bike rides. We know that if we really wanted to, they would let us play. And we also know we'd probably be reasonably good at the activity at hand with a little explanation and practice. But mostly, it's just that we're not interested, we'd bore easily and we'd rather do something more constructive like writing a blog entry, shopping, pilates, waxing our eye brows, researching our next vacation on the internet or analyzing the crap out of our lives with another women whose significant other is doing something sweaty or boring as well. Occasionally, usually by accident, we find ourselves in the situation as the only girl, and while there is a certain satisfaction to this (like the time i ended up coming in third out of 16 men and myself at a Texas Hold 'em tournament in which I was quite unsuspectingly the only female) it is not my preferred way to spend an evening.

We, as women, have no problem as we visualize our beloved dudes sitting around together, eating Pizza and Doritos and drinking beer and scratching themselves and theorizing on the best strategies.

But when the mention of another women is inserted into the mix, Houston, we have a problem. (Forgive me...the shuttle landed today.)

It's not jelaousy, like, ohmigawd that girl is going to steal all of our boyfriends while we are out shopping for the new book of conversations with Bono. It's jealousy like wait a second why didn't you ask me I'm smart I can figure stuff out I can hang with the boys I like beer too you know and I am going to come and play and beat the crap out of all of you because I'm a little mad right now and feel I have to prove something and I am certainly going to cream this OTHER girl, who apparently was invited from the get go because of some perceived quality she possesses that I am apparently lacking.

This "conversation" which included a lot of "Im SORRY. I didn't think you'd WANT to play..." happened at Chili's restaurant as I pouted over my chicken tacos. Fortunately my boyfriend is used to me being a tiny bit irrational from time to time and usually smoothes these little wrinkles over with grace and patience.

SO...guess who is playing fantasy football this season?

Yup.

Any suggestions for my team name? Um...I do get to name my team, right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!