click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:48 p.m. - 2005-08-05
getting nostalgic about college
So Ben Cape (see the diaryland site, bearing his name) just posted this amazing blog entry, likening his hiatus with television spanning the later nineties to the sexual hiatus that many of my fellow heathens-until-college folk took.

How interesting. I can think of at least ten people who had sex and watched a lot of tv in high school, came to college, met jesus and ditched sex and TV right at the same time. And drinking. We didn't really drink, either.

I've been thinking about this since I read Ben's blog...and at first, I thought to myself how ridiculous and legalistic and whatever else we were. If you haven't noticed, I get a little antsy about "rules." And then it dawned on me....if you weren't there, you won't believe me. But the truth is...we actually had better things to be doing. I swear it. I know, it's super hard to imagine anything better than two sweaty, awkward freshmen going at it on a bed the size of a hand towel while a roommate snores nearby...or zoning out at 11am on a saturday, watching Realest Really Real Reality Show Ever on MTV7 or whatever. Or spending three hours getting ready and parading down the street with 27 of your identical best friends, trying hard to pull off the "slutty school girl with heavy eye makeup and pig tails" look, on your way to do 12 Jager bombs in a row, make out with the guy who never talks to you during daylight hours, take the Stumbleina route home and puke on your bedspread. I know, it's hard to believe we survived without this stuff. I definitely had my share in high school, and ok, even a little bit of some of that here and there in Seattle.

In Athens, we had so much fun, those first two years especially, we were constantly giddy. We just couldn't believe how great the people we'd been handed on a silver platter were so amazing. We just wanted to hang out and revel in the beauty of living and life and friends. We made movies and made up games constantly. We had the most real, profound, vulnerable, caring, honest, ground-breaking conversations you could imagine. We confessed secrets we thought we'd never tell anyone. We became a family. I've since realized that it will never be quite like that again. Some of it will. I'll always still call Bev and Kelly and Bethany first with big news. We'll all still see each other as often as we can. Maybe some of us will even live in the same place again sometime. But the days of me and Kelly and someone sleeping in Angie and Chris' bed together at 3 Elliot are long gone...as are ultimate frisbee afternoons and Nav night in Baker Center.

Now, to pass the time...we have to drink and watch tv and have sex. I'm kidding. Sort of.

Just kind of being nostalgic. Here's to Athens...The College Years. Are we too old to play the paperclip game?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!