click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:42 a.m. - 2005-07-27
Mickey D's comes through
So I applied to do this really amazing young professional leadership program thing for "Promising Pittsburgh leaders" and lo and behold, I got in.

I was starting to think I was losing my touch or something...honestly, it's the first wonderful thing that's happened to me in the professional realm for at least 2 years. Whenever it was that I got my amazing job where, included in my benefits package, was FIVE WEEKS PAID VACATION. No, I am not kidding. You know how many I get now? None. I get to ask tentatively if I can have a day off here or there and my boss might say yes and she usually does but it's like kind of between me and her.

Anyway, this leadership thing is amazing. And amazingly expensive, but it is looking really good that I am going to get a partial scholarship...and...get this...my boss is applying to our organization's foundation to pay for the rest of my tuition. Holy crapola. I knew I was here for a reason. Unfortunately, however, I have signed a contract that involves me turning over my first born child and me and all of my immediate family having the status of indentured servants for 47 years and me having a bumper sticker the size of Kansas that says that my organization is "da bomb."

Ok, not really...but in all honesty, I do wonder if this acceptance of funds obligates me further than I care to be...what if the dream job of my life comes along in two months? Then what?? Oh well, I guess I will cross that bridge when I come to it, as my mother would advise....if she weren't in South Carolina par 3 golfing her brains out.

Oh yeah, have you TRIED the Fruit and Yogurt Parfait at McDonalds? I know, McDonald's is a horrible company but the Parfait...It's amazing and it's on the dollar menu. Hello delicious and inexpensive and good-for-you breakfast treat.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!