click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:21 p.m. - 2005-07-20
just plain wrong
This is about Harry Potter...I haven't read it through all the way yet so this shouldn't be exactly a spoiler since I don't really know anything....but if you are EXTRA sensitive about things like that, like I am, read no further. This does not disclose any actual information about the book...only things people have said to me that I wish I had not heard.

WHy? Why!? Why is it that people seem to want to tell me about movies and books before I get a chance to read them? Listen. LISTEN. I DO NOT WANT TO KNOW ANYTHING. NOTHING. DO not tell me anything....maybe you could just say "It's good" and move on, leaving me in peace to enjoy my reading experience. Why are people always letting out little bits of information seemingly JUST to let you knwo that THEY have seen/read something that you haven't. People get this little gleam in their eye because they know something you don't know.

I really get mad when people carelessly mention things like "Oh there's a great twist ending." ARGHGHGH! Don't you get it that if you TELL me ther is a TWIST, all I will involuntarily do is expect it at every turn????

Yesterday, coming out of the coffee shop, I ran into this woman who practically tackled me upon noticing The Half-Blood Prince tucked under my arm and goes "OH my god! Have you finished it yet!?!?!?!" And I instinctively go "NO, please don't tell me anything...I'm not done." And she goes "The end will SHOCK you." I wanted to say some choice words that would likely shock HER. How can I possibly be SHOCKED if I know I'm going to be shocked??? Why would you do that to someone??? It's like that whole Crying Game thing.....I missed out on that one because some jerkface told me about the big shocker at the end. I refuse to watch it now. I wanted to be organically shocked! Shocked in the way that JK ROWLING intended for me to be! An expectation-free shock! I mean, how many shocking things can there be in Harry Potter? There are only so many things that could happen that would shock me....

If you are one of these people and at least ONE of my blog readers is because they have done it to me personally with a book I was in the middle of. ....if you are one of these people who needs to gleefully engage in this atrocious behavior...STOP. Never do this again. It is not nice at all. There are so few things in life that provide this level of anticipation and pleasure....I've been waiting so long....every page is savored. Every word lovingly taken in...sigh....

I must mention Bob Cantoni has been delightfully respectful of my wishes on this matter and I tip my hat to him most gratefully. There are aspects of Bob's personality that would make one suspicious that he would intentionally engage in this sort of behaviour...but his deep love of literature and a good story override his tendency to, on occasion, be a bit wayward of courtesy for his own amusement.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!