click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:49 a.m. - 2005-07-20
a great idea worth sharing
Allow me to go outside of my usual blogging format. I thought this idea was useful and I didn't feel like bombarding all of you with a mass email...feel free to put this on your own blogs or email as a forward...I think it's a brilliant idea that should simply be standard...

ICE - In Case of Emergency
A campaign encouraging people to enter an emergency contact number in their mobile phone's memory under the heading ICE (In Case of Emergency), has rapidly spread throughout the world as a particular consequence of last week's terrorist attacks in London.

Originally established as a nation-wide campaign in the UK, ICE allows paramedics or police to be able to contact a designated relative / next-of-kin in an emergency situation.

The idea is the brainchild of East Anglian Ambulance Service paramedic Bob Brotchie and was launched in May this year. Bob, 41, who has been a paramedic for 13 years, said: "I was reflecting on some of the calls I've attended at the roadside where I had to look through the mobile phone contacts struggling for information on a shocked or injured person. Almost everyone carries a mobile phone now, and with ICE we'd know immediately who to contact and what number to ring. The person may even know of their medical history."

By adopting the ICE advice, your mobile will help the rescue services quickly contact a friend or relative - which could be vital in a life or death situation. It only takes a few seconds to do, and it could easily

help save your life. Why not put ICE in your phone now? Simply select a new contact in your phone book, enter the word 'ICE' and the number of the person you wish to be contacted.

For more than one contact name ICE1, ICE2, ICE3 etc.
***ONe little thing I (jessi) just discovered is that if you try to input a number you already have in your phone (example: my parents) the cell phone won't let you...maybe someone like Seth or Bob or Kevin who is more technically inclined than I am can help(?) and provide a better solution than deleting the "mom" entry and only listing that number under an Emergency contact. Really what SHOULD happen is that cell phone should have a seperate phone book for emergency contacts....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!