click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 a.m. - 2005-07-19
cold and light sounds much less offensive
The new Harry Potter book (at least the 88 pages I've read so far) is really great. I have found the most delightful reading place and I have discovered that I am still capable of sitting in a restaurant for 4+ hours, reading and sipping away at a delicious cool beverage.

Question: (I asked Bob this last night and his answer was interesting.)

With a book series like Harry Potter, when there are a couple of books out, you read them and then a movie comes out...and the movie(s) are actually pretty good...do you picture the characters in your head as you read the book the way you pictured them before there was a movie or do you picture the characers as the actors in the movie.

I realized as I was thinking about this that I picture fiction book characters as animated figured until the movie comes out and then I fluctuate back and forth in a very bothersome way between my imagined, animated versions and the movie actors. You?

Megan J. I love it that you are referring to your new main squeeze as a "gentleman caller." That's hot. Did I really say "main squeeze?"

Oh, and if I hear the term "hot n' heavy" one more time in reference to my relationship or anyone else's I'm going to talk about your parents, your grandparents and your high school algebra teacher using the term "shameless, desperate, animalistic passion" So, there.

Why are people always asking that?! Not you, but...people. Asking if it's "hot n' heavy"?! Why??? I mean, if it is, do you really want to know??? People rarely ask it directly of the person in question, although it does happen. But usually as Kelly once pointed out, it's either a statement or a question from someone like your mom to someone like your aunt: "So, are Rachel and Brian still hot n' heavy?"

What is the correct response to this? What information is the question asker really seeking? Are they actually inquiring about the level of hotness and heavyness? Are they wanting details about the sexual relationship of the people involved? Do moms and Aunts actually speculate on such details??

Or are they just saying "Are they still seeing each other often?"

I'm sorry if this rant is conjuring disturbing images for any readers. But I suppose that's my whole point....sigh...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!