click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 a.m. - 2005-07-15
sleepovers and the free market economy
So last night Kel came over for a sleepover/girl night (we drank beer and watched Bring it On which is a great movie and no I am not kidding.) Before she came over, I was doing a little apartment cleaning and straightening up. You know, relocating the underwear from the floor to the hamper, putting the home waxing kit under the sink where it belongs, making sure there's a picture of Kel visible somewhere in the room among the thirty four million framed photographs I have gracing every wall and surface area. If you are reading this, there is probably a picture of you in my bedroom.

I went to wipe down the shower and I was reading the label on the SHOWER CLEANER. I kid you not, here is how the directions for the SHOWER CLEANER start:

1. For best results, begin with a clean shower.

What?! I mean.....WHAT??!!??!!

That's like a bottle of beer that says "Best if consumed while rip-roaring wasted." Or a bag of chips that says "For optimal enjoyment, eat while full enough to vomit." Or a car wash sign that says "Clean vehicles only." Or diet pills advertised as "Works best for consumers who are not overweight." Or a self tanner that is "not for those with fair skin."

This morning I went to get my coffee at my new favorite coffee shop and commited the ultimate independent coffee shop faux pas. I brought in my Starbucks mug. She yelled at me. And only 10% playfully. I decided to spare her of my "Starbucks created the market for you..." blah blah blah. I just hung my head in shame and tipped her well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!