click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:36 a.m. - 2005-07-11
My toe fell asleep while I was typing this
Monday mornings are twice as bad when you've had friday of and spent a lovely weekend with your boyfriend.

Kevin's birthday was on friday so we both took off of work and had a splendid day if I do say so myself. Breakfast at Tom's diner, running/walking at the high school track, yummalicious dinner at The Melting Pot (fondue) a boat ride on the Gateway Clipper and a really good Pirates game during which they practically came back from the dead to win in the 10th inning.

Saturday I explored my new neighborhood, found the coffee shop at which I will read the new Harry Potter book once it comes out. The coffee shop is called Quiet Storm and they have excellent coffee, various tofu and falafel and hummus items, a tattooed/pierced waitstaff and decent music. I mean, it wasn't Nick Drake and Southeast Engine, like your ears might find at Donkey, but it's not like they were playing Celine Dion or anything.

Later on saturday I discovered Pho Mihn, a Vietnamese restaurant close by that serves pho, which is the best news I've heard since the Pittsburgh U2 concert was announced. I dragged Kevin there for dinner where we got fresh spring rolls and beef pho broth with chicken slices (Pho Ga). I give Pho Mihn a 9 out of 10 on the Pho scale. If you don't knwo what Pho is, find a vietnamese restaurant and get some because it will change your life.

Sunday contained a family reuinion (Kevin's) and Batman Begins. I got crabby standing out in the hot humid blaaaaaah weather all afternoon so my very astute boyfriend knew that if I was not swiftly delievered to air conditioning and semi-mindless entertainment ASAP, I was going to start short circuiting or perhaps breathing out fire and shooting lightning out of my eyeballs.

Batman Begins is good. Definitely toward the higher end of the Comic/Superhero movie spectrum. Like closer to Spiderman and further away from Hulk and Sin City. Oh Katie Holmes...why hast thou turnst thouself into a spectacle?

My lovely roommate is in Wisconszxin. She has not quite moved in yet and so it is like i am living alone. Want to know what's wrong with my apartment so far? Here is a list.

-Stinky refridgerator
-Stove that does not turn off unless it is unplugged from the wall
-Stripped hot water handle in tub...screwdriver is necessary to use hot water...I have been taking cold showers, no joke
-No light in the somewhat scary-at-night hallway/landing area
-A smoke alarm that goes off from the steam in the shower
-Random cat that wanders quite presumptuously into my apartment when I am entering/exiting. Not a huge problem...it's nice cat, but it's weird. Apparently her name is Lady and she lives "in the building" which I guess means "in my apartment".
-a hole in the cement on the front steps which is seemingly the entrance of the home for hundreds of large bees. I was sitting on these steps unknowingly and bees kept zooming around near my crotch...this was a bit disturbing until I realized I was sitting on the front door of their house.

These things, plus the fact that it is about 1 million degrees in the third floor dwelling that Amanda and I (and occasionally a cat) occupy, are all ok by me....because I love my neighborhood, I love the IDEA of living wiht Amanda (hopefully she'll actually live here soon) and it is right and fitting for a 27 year old woman to not be living with her parents and not be living in the suburbs...however, I am going there for dinner tonight. :)

I have to teach current events tomorrow, as I do every tuesday and thursday. Any ideas on what I should teach about? So far, I've done 4th of July, Hurricanes and the London terrorist attacks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!