click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:03 p.m. - 2005-07-11
It;'s fun to stay at the....
So I enjoy the occasional Egg McMuffin from time to time. And since I didn't have any coffee filters with which to make my delicious caffinated beverage this morning, I thought "It's a great day for an egg mcmuffin and a coffee at McDonalds."

I pulled up and was approached by a man on foot asking for change. I shook my head "no" and thought to myself that it's actually pretty smart positioning. Who doesn't have change to spare at the drive-thru? I pull forward to order my delicious over-processed food and marginally good coffee and the order taker guy's voice totally creeps me out. If you've seen the horrible movie "Phone Booth" and you remember what Keiffer Sutherland's voice sounds like in that movie, you'll know exactly how order taker guy sounded. If not, hmm, how can I describe? Creepy. Calculated. Almost mocking. "Would you like to add a hashbwon to make that a meal?" Definitely packing heat and definitely planning to kill me as soon as I pulled around. "No thank you," I croaked. Maybe he was an animal rights activist concerned about the pig from which my yummy slice of canadian bacon came...or a human rights advocate worker, outraged at McDonalds' shitty working conditions and compensation plans. Or maybe he was a former employee, canned for creeping out the female employees by waiting for them in the back freezer...maybe he had come back and masacred everyone and was "working" the drive thru to pick off any regular customers who had pissed him off and that might be jonesing for some McGriddles this morning. Maybe that panhandler was his lookout, keeping a watchful eye out for any off duty police officers.

Of course, this thought process of mine was all rather anti climactic. The dude ended up being slightly creepy in that overly polite and precise way "Maame, here is your 7 cents change. Please pull forward to the next window to retrieve your food. Have a nice day."

The food-giver lady was fantastic, though. She looked exactly like Robin Givens in her prime....not when her boyfriend was beating the crap out of her....and she was friendly but not too early monday morning friendly. She asked me how my morning was in this really genuine way and it made me smile. Then I pulled aorund and spilled my coffee on the white part of my outfit. Today, about 95% of my outfit is black, and I, of course, spilled coffee on half of the 5% of white. Nice.

My coworker is frantically asking everyone in the office if you are allowed to take aerosol cans on airplanes. She leaves for her vacation tomorrow and I guess if she can't have her aquanet, all hell is going to break loose.

So, today I was looking around on the internet for a gym close to my house. I found the YMCA and clicked on the button for "location and office hours". Here is what I found:

2621 Centre Ave
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219
412-621-1762

Eric Williams, Executive Director
Thomas Burley, Chief Volunteer Officer

Hours of Operation:

Mon: closed
Tue: closed
Wed: closed
Thu: closed
Fri: closed
Sat: closed
Sun: closed


Nice.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!