click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2005-06-30
Rob Rennich, the spleenless wonder
In honor of my good friend Rob Rennich getting engaged recently, here is an interview with him. Please be sure to see interviewer's note at the bottom because although it is a special week for Rob and Erin, I wouldn't want to encourage such hopeful delusion...

How do you know me?

We met my freshman year of college. You lived in the same mod (dorm) as Matt Hale (who I have known since 6th grade.) He introduced us.


Where do you live and with whom?

I live in Bloomington, IN. My former roommate just got married so I currently live alone. All that is about to change though.


How do you spend your time?

Trying to figure out what to do with my life. Got any suggestions?


How do you LIKE to spend your time?

Hanging out with my fianc�. Other than that, mostly nerdy stuff. Playing video games, Dungeons and Dragons, watching great films like �Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter�

Best thing that ever happened to you:

That would be getting engaged to Erin (last night).


Why don't you have a spleen?

It fell out.


Most prized material possession?

My Martian D-15


3 movies you really like:

UHF
Big Fish
School of Rock


3 bands you really like:

Iron Maiden
Danzig
Johnny Cash (technically Johnny Cash is not a band but I think this answers the spirit of the question)

I also really like this guy (remix

Why don�t you have a spleen for real?

I was born with a genetic blood disease called spherocytosis. Instead of having red blood cells with the normal shape I have spherical ones. My spleen thinks �there is something wrong with this blood cell. I should take it out of circulation.� Well after a few years of doing that with every red blood cell in my body, my spleen will burst. So the doctors took it out preemptively.

(note: This happened when I was in second grade. My doctor was named Dr. Weiner which is about the funniest name possible when you�re in second grade.)


Tell a story with me and you in it from back in the day.

This is a tough question. (Really it�s not so much a question as a command). One time back in the day� wavy lines�

I was really trying to avoid going on a date with some girl, Erin, I had met at my ex-girlfriend�s wedding. I wanted to hang out with her, but in a group setting of some kind. When it became clear that the group thing was not going to be possible, Jessi talked me into going on just one date. And gave me tons of good advice. I�m really glad she did �cause now I�m gonna get married.

(When I spell checked this answer one of the suggestions for �gonna� was �gonad�)


What is the most stressful thing about your life right now?

Raising funds to continue my work with the Navs.


What is the one thing you wish people would just "get" about you?

I�m not trying to be rude to you. No matter how much you think I�m trying to be rude to you, I�m not. I�m just socially retarded. Please accept my apology in advance.


What is one thing you wish people would just "get" in general?

When you pull up to a four way stop sign, the person who got there first goes first. Should you happen to get there at the same time the person on the right goes first. Also that little stick on the left hand side of your steering wheel is called a turn signal. You use it to tell other drivers what you are about to do so they can avoid hitting you.


You can have any job in the world. What would you choose?

The one I have now. On staff with the Navigators, helping college kids know Jesus.


Favorite beverage (non-alc)

IBC Root Beer.

Favorite drinky-drink?

Iron City Beer. You can take the boy out of Pittsburgh�

You can eliminate one word in the English language. What is it?

�Can�t� I know it�s cheesy, but when I was a swimming coach, the one thing my swimmers were not allowed to say is �I can�t�. It�s amazing what you can do if you have the right attitude.


What is one thing you know for sure is true?

I�m getting married to the most beautiful girl in the world. (No offence to all the other pretty ladies out there). Also we are going to take martial arts classes together and eliminate all doubt as to who the toughest couple is.

*There are some tough couples out there but I have to say, I think Kevin and I are in the running. Kevin got hit by a car and broke his ribs last year, so now because of the miraculous healing process of bones, his ribs are extra strong. And I have never been beaten in arm wrestling by a girl. However I do always get beaten up by Matt Cooke during snow wrestling fights. Although it is probably also fair to note I did plow Rob over during a soccer game once and ended up with a mouth full of grass.

Lastly...love is in the air. In one week, I've been notified of two engagements, a first "i love you" moment and a brand spanking new dating relationship....you know who you are and I think you both read this. Are the planets aligned weird or something?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!