click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:44 p.m. - 2005-06-27
Baby baby bay-bay.
Boy oh boy is this funnyfunnyfunny.

http://tcruiseko.ytmnd.com

So, I went to a baby shower yesterday. And I skinned my knee. Who skins their knee at a baby shower besides me? No one. Yeah.

I was forced to participate in this game which involved dressing a baby doll up. Why? Why do people do these games? And why is there so much pink? And why are there always so many things on teh table where you are supposed to eat that you don't have room to eat. No, sorry you can't have lunch because the scary looking rubber babies with candy pinned to their creepy bodies are where your plate is supposed to be and there are 75 pounds of fake flowers in the middle of the table, spilling into your coffee cup, so no, you can't have any caffeine to keep you awake while some pregnant lady opens 1 million gift bags that contain pastel colored gifts and requires that 12 hired men and 6 SUVs be reserved to transport everything home.

So I got roped into this game where I had to dress a baby doll in something called a "onesie" that's pronounced "One-zee" that everyone in the room except me seemed to be familiar with and found it very amusing that I was not. I got really nervous because I was being video taped and a crowd of pastel-clad women who I didn't knwo were watching me. So when they dinged the bell or whatever to start, I dropped to my knees onto the ground, thinking I'd have much better luck on the ground than balancing this baby doll on my lap....well, I skinned my knee on my landing and managed to come in dead last. Please do not ask me to change your child into their onesie or wahtever. I am very bad at it. But I am good at other things. Like making margaritas and writing cover letters and accessorizing.

When I have a shower, there is going to be booze (even if I'm the pregnant one and can't drink it) and music and there will not be any games but if there are because someone came up with something not dumb, then the prizes will be things like books or sunglasses or a pound of freshly ground coffee. OK?

Don't get me wrong...the people who planned this shower did a lot of work and I think the mom-to-be loved it which is what is supposed ot happen. I just don't get it, that's all.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!