click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:44 a.m. - 2005-06-17
Eminem and Jesus
So by now everyone knows that I'm an aunt. Well, sort of. (Hey, I'm an only child...I have to stretch it a little on this one).

Bethany Cape gave birth to the mammoth Naomi Isabelle Cape on wednesday at about 11:30AM. She weighs 8 pounds and 9 ounces and is doing fine, according to my sources. I have not actually spoken with the new momma or poppa...they were pretty busy popping her out (finally!) and now they are very tired. But the Cape Baby Phone Tree functioned well during the whole process. Shoutouts to Andrea for keeping me and my branch of the tree informed and up to date.

In Bethany's correspondance with me up until the birth, when the Capes "went dark" as Jack Bauer would say, Bethany has been refering to me as Naomi's "Cool Aunt Jessi." I've decided to take this moniker on permanantly. So, in the future, when introducing me, please try to remember to use it. Example: "Joe, this is my friend, Cool Aunt Jessi."

So, Kevin and I are going to a wedding this weekend. Tonight is the rehearsal dinner, which is a cookout. Tomorrow is the actual wedding. I am wearing hot pink tomorrow. I think it's a good time to branch out from my usual black Holly GoLightly numbers.

I've seen a lot of Louis Vuitton and Dooney and Burke bags around lately. And a lot of Tiffany's jewelry. I know it's kind of stupid to spend money on designer hand bags and charm bracelets...but part of me just really wants a job where that sort of thing were more of a CHOICE and not an IMPOSSIBILITY. Honestly, I wouldn't buy that stuff...I hope I would give more money to Amnesty International and The Garrisons...it's just that I was reading this stats chart today with salary averages and it was depressing how BELOW average I am right now. Time to send out some more resumes. This is just silly.

Has anyone heard that wretched new Eminem song? I have no idea what it's supposed to be...it's like for part of it, he's talking about Jessica Simpson's ass and how it makes him sexually excited. I believe the actual lyrics in that part are something like "The way you shake it, I can't believe it, I ain't never seen an ass like that...You make my pee-pee go da-doing doing doing." Yeah, i just checked them online. That's the actual lyrics.

And that word there is not "doing" as it "what are you doing" it's doing, like rhymes with "boing" you know, like the "oye" sound.

I mean...WHAT?! His "pee-pee"?

I think the song is supposed to make fun of michael jackson but it's just so bizarre. For a lot of the verses he raps like he's middle eastern or something. I guess I just don't get it.

I think you're officially OLD when you decide it's not so much that you don't get it, but that whatever the thing is that you don't get is just stupid.

More interviews forthcoming. I thought I'd just say hi and throw a few various thoughts out. I've been working on my book...the one Brooke and I are writing. It's actually getting written and that's cool...I saw this speaker yesterday who additionally motivated me.

I am thinking semi-seriously about starting my own business. Or at least learning more about business in general so I might actually be able to do it one day. I am reading a book on marketing right now called Coloring Outside the Lines.

Jesus died for our sins. Pretty crazy, huh? Sometimes the reality of that just grabs me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!