click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:09 p.m. - 2005-06-15
more about me
How exciting...the interviews are pouring in. The delightful Meyer sisters at almost the same time both emailed me interview questions. They are both posted here. Katie's are first because her email arrived slightly before Jessica's and Katie is older.

1.What is your favorite saying (like a "don't cry over spilt milk" type of saying:

�You win some, you lose some.� Because it can be said in response to almost anything. When you are in a situation when you just don�t know what to say, try it. It�s quite all-encompassing.

2. What is your greatest accomplishment?

As I stated in an earlier interview, (hee-hee, I sound SOOOO important there.) I hope for it to soon be finishing this book. Prior to that, I don�t know�maybe peeling an orange and having it all come off in one piece?

3. What is your biggest disappointment?

The whole Michigan thing.

4. What song would be the first dance at your wedding?

Well, I�ll let the groom have some input of course but I do like the song �Sweetest Decline� by Beth Orton. I am embarrassed to admit how many times I have thought about this question. When I first heard that Nora Jones song, Come Away With Me, I thought that was definitely the song for me�but then Amy and Scott couldn�t find a song for their wedding so I �let them have it.� I don�t know�maybe something like �Tonight I celebrate my love for you� by Roberta Flack and Peabo Brysen just to be kind of silly. I guess I�m torn on whether that moment should be silly or serious. Like, I�d love to strut into the room to that Black eyed Peas song and just boogie down and start the dance party. But there�s seemingly something about that moment on the dance floor to some sappy song, where maybe you look into your new husband�s eyes and just kind of go �Holy Shit! We�re MARRIED now.� That seems kind of nice.

5. Pick any place on earth to live and tell us why.

The Outer Banks of North Carolina because it is beautiful there and I have some wonderful memories from there. I must go back sometime. It�s one of those places that I want to take everyone I love. It is the place where I can recall being the most excited about living life and I sometimes miss that feeling. The world seemed a sea of endless possibilities. The future could only have wonderfull things in store. Sigh...

And now, some questions from Jessica Meyer:

How do you know me/tell how we met? I know you from your fabulous sister Katie, who I got to know at first through a band we were in that was awesome. You are both smart, funny ladies and I enjoy you quite a lot. Jessica Meyer is an excellent story teller. If anyone ever findds themself with Jessica and there is a lull, please ask her about her and Katie's trip to Seattle.

Who do you live with and where? Right now I live with one mom, one dad and one german short-haired dog named Shayna who is pretty cool but gets nervous easily. I will soon be moving into a small but awesome apartment with one Amanda. This, I am looking forward to.

Where is your favorite place to live? Seattle. Sigh�

Tell an interesting, preferably funny story: Sorry, I can�t tell funny stories on command. They have to occur naturally. I wish I could�there has been many an awkward lull at a party when I wish I could just bust out with �So this one time��

What is your ideal job? Working for Bono. Or getting paid to just write. Or event planning for something important. Or maybe owning my own business which I am considering more and more.

Who is the most important person you've ever met? Um. Punky Brewster? I guess the person I�ve been most excited about meeting was Natalee Merchant. More �important� people include Tom Ridge, former Homeland Security advisor, Governor Locke of Washington State, The Mayor of Seattle on several occasions, various Pennsylvania State Representatives one of whom recently called me �Miss Dobos� when I ran into him at Kennywood. I nearly fell over when I realized he knew who I was and my name. AND he said my name right. That never happens. Michael Dukakis while he ran for president. If I ever meet Bono, I will probably lose my composure and that doesn't happen too often.

How do you feel about otters? If there was such a thing as reincarnation, as my mother used to say, that would be a good species to return as. They look like they have fun.

What is the worst name you've ever heard of someone
naming their child? Rob Rennich. Just kidding. But I got your attention on that one didn�t I?

Greatest strength? Ability to communicate effectively in most every situation/willingness to tell people things they don't want to hear but need to.

Lamest weakness? Besides arachnophobia�lack of discipline in certain areas and an unwillingness to proofread.

Favorite beverage (non-alcoholic): good freshly ground, freshly brewed coffee with soy creamer.

Favorite alcoholic beverage: whiskey and coke with a bunch of limes (I like regular coke better but I usually drink it with diet to avoid the sugar), Michelob Ultra with a million lemons (I actually prefer Hefewietzen but again, calories), Pom-Cosmo (substitute cranberry with Pomegranate juice), Cicada juice (A crazy mixture of beer, vodka and lemonade made by the cooler-full. When we have a big party at my house we will drink this.

Did you know that ice fog can kill you? No. I do not know what ice fog is. It sounds like a microbrew from Pyramid.

What food and drink would you choose for your last
meal?

If I didn� thave to worry at all about it being bad for me�hmmm...Bob�s baked mac & cheese, fresh baked Italian bread with gobs of butter, garlic mashed potatoes with parmesan cheese, salad with blue cheese dressing and cheesecake. I would drink a milkshake. Vanilla. I�m a bit of a carb addict but I try hard not to give in to this. I'm a bit of a cheese addict and try slightly less hard to not give in to this.

Best thing to do on a night out in Pittsburgh: Dance at Matrix or go to Kennywood with a big group of your favorite people or just your significant other on a day when it is not too hot and you can both wear hooded weatshirts, but not matching ones because that's dumb.

Best thing to do on a night out in Athens: Go to Casa and wait two hours for a table with the good people of Athens and have more drinks than you intended to, eat burrito with tofu and veggies of the day which hopefully are brocolli and mushroom and not bok choi and mixed greens, then go to a Stella show. Then eat Goodfella�s pizza before you go to bed if you are hungry again.

Best thing to do on a night out in Seattle: Go to dinner at Charlie�s and get the chicken veggie quesedilla, get the world�s best Hefeweitzen at Barca, go dancing at Neighbours and drink double vodka-crans for 2 dollars each but don�t go with Michele because she might throw up on you. :)

Please tell me everything you know about mangos. They are green on the outside, orange on the inside. Packed with vitamin C. Kind of sour/tart tasting. Weird stringy, goopy texture.

One thing you know for sure is true: God really actually loves me, and you, even though we don�t deserve it. And it�s true whether you believe it or not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!