click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 a.m. - 2005-06-15
all about me
Well, isn't this nice? Amanda has decided to interview me. Here are her questions and my answers.

We met online so its only appropriate that I ask you a 2 part question here
1. How many people have you actually met online and then become friends
with. And 2. Tell me your most ridiculous online friend story.

My first blind date was with a guy I didn't exactly meet online, but a friend of mine met online and she set us up via instant messenger. This was a ghetto form of IM...it was in 1996. Matt Hale walked me up to the Chinese restaurant to meet him. Ben referenced this recently in his interview, I think....let's just say he had a mullet. I guess I sort of met Collin online because it was through friends, but then through email at first. Amanda. Two guys I'm casual friends with here in Pittsburgh. A girl named Stephanie in DC who bought my U2 ticket for the Philly show. We email often and she may be coming to visit. I became friends with Cat through IM, though we had actually met once or twice before that. Steve Lynch, I've never met, but consider a friend because of our guestbook relationship. Kevin and I met online of course. I met the woman who moved my stuff from Seattle to Ann Arbor online. She had a fake name because someone was stalking her. But for 100 dollars she moved about 15 boxes from the west coast to Michigan for me. Honestly the weirdest experience I can recall having lately was with you, Amanda. Steve. yeah. Amanda made me go on a first date with her and a guy she met online. Basically, long story short, he was definitely gay.


What is your favorite thing to do in Pittsburgh (I didn't got to Athens with
you so it is of no relevance to me)? Hmm. Well, my favorite thing to do anywhere is jetski, so if there's a place in pittsburgh to do that, it's my favorite. I love eating at the Monteray Bay on Mt. Washington. I love going out on the southside with my girls. I love eating pizza and watching Sex and The City with Kevin or doing pretty much anything with Kevin. Even shopping at Target. I love Nakama happy hour. I love Houlihans happy hour. I love dancing at Matrix. I really love Kennywood. Probably my best Pittsburgh moment so far was riding the Phantom's Revenge at Kennywood with Kevin at night. That was fun.


What is your all time favorite movie kiss? Well, does this mean a kiss I was involved with DURING a movie, which would be the kiss that happened during the movie Sin City because that movie sucked and kissing during it was MUCH more interesting. Or do you mean kiss IN a movie. This is going to be an odd choice, but the kiss in the movie JFK between Kevin Costner and his wife. It is really an amazing kiss, but probably the reson I remember it so much is that one of her hairs kind of gets stuck between their lips and it catches the light and it's distracting. But it's a very sensual smooch.


What is the most gratifying thing you have ever done?

Planned a fantastic wedding reception and had it go over perfectly. Or maybe helped younger women grow in their faith and seeing them live it out. Or maybe really having been there for a friend who was utterly devastated and knowing that they felt loved and cared for by me. I'm writing a book now (really) with Brooke and I hope that will soon be the most gratifying thing I've ever done.

If you and I were characters in a sitcom who would we be? If you mean who would play our characters...You would be Jennifer Garner or Kirsten Dunst. I would be Drew Barrymore or Sarah Jessica Parker.


When you were 7 where did you think you would be at 27? I thought I would be a jockey. But Jockeys usually are 5 feet tall and weigh 100 pounds so that was out when I was about 10. Other than the job siutuation, I thought I would be single and living in a city somewhere.

What do you think of where you are now compared to where you thought you would be? I'm really thrilled with where I am right now in some ways and I'm also really disappointed. I keep waiting for somethign really great to happen in my career. I always feel like I'm on the brink of something amazing. recently I've realized I need to take more initiative on that. I guess I always thought I'd be "discovered" by someone with all of the right connections if I put myself out there enough. I think I've decided now that you just have to get out there and make it happen. You know, like Gloria Estefan says....get on your feet.


Name one fashion item that every girl must own. A great, sturdy jean jacket.

Name one fashion item that every guy must own. medium/dark blue boot cut jeans.

What is the cutest thing you remember ever seeing your parents do? Sometimes my dad carves "i love you" into a banana and puts it in my mom's lunch.

Say, Heaven forbid, that something terrible happened to Bono such as him
getting into a really bad accident and getting retrograde amnesia, soap
opera style, so that he couldn't remember what he stood for and what his
cause was and his condition was irreversible. Who moves up next in the line of idols? Jim Wallis, executive director of Sojourners, a Chrisitan social justice organization.

What is the song that most often gets stuck in your head? Lately it's been that "Hey-ya" song because Kevin made me a CD with the original, non Outkast version as the first song on there, and I listen to the CD almost every day.

Or what song is in your head right now? "Get on your feet" by Gloria Estefan becuase I just referenced it.

Tell something to your millions of blog readers that they don't already
know? I was named after an Allman Brothers song.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!