click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:59 a.m. - 2005-05-31
Le Weekend de memoriale de jour (or whatever)
Well, this past weekend was quite lovely. There were several spiders involved. We got muddy. Guns were fired. It was pretty awesome. If you've never been to my family's cabin, you're missing out. OK, let me back up. Friday night, Kevin and I went to Bravo Franco's, a nice Italian restaurant where we ate such things as calamari and pasta. Saturday, it rained which was very sad because all of this yardwork business has been happening largely so that we would be "ready" for this saturday, when all of my mom's side of the family descended upon us for what we call "may Birthdays." You see, slightly over half of my extended family members have a birthday in May. It's really kind of odd. So we do a May birthday party for all of us. If someone is turning a number that ends in zero, they get a little extra attention. Well, my uncle Bob turned 60 this year, so it was his turn to have a fuss made over him.

Every year, my uncle Bob calls each family member on their birthday and plays Happy Birthday on the accordian to them. I have saved many a voicemail over the years, with my uncle honking out the notes, accompanied by my Aunt Barbara who is an enthusiastic, if not particularly accurate, vocalist. This is always very amusing. Anyway, this year, we decided to hire a professional accordian player. So, we surprised Uncle Bob with this very lively and talented fellow and his gigantic accordian which he told us cost him 9 thousand dollars in 1950. So, after a very precise and complex version of Happy Birthday, we all danced. I polka'd with my father and slow danced with Kevin to some old time Italian-ish songs. It was very nice.

Sunday, I met Kevin's parents. He reads this so I can't tell you the real story of how I discovered that his mom is telepathic and how she read my mind at several most inconvenient times, and how his dad is actually a Russian spy. Oh and his brother is a robot. Nope, I can't tell you about that at all. But I can tell you that there is an AWESOME picture of Kevin on the mantle, sporting a really awesome MULLET.

Later that night we went up to my family's cabin. We sat by the fire and drank beer. We went to breakfast with my uncle Joel and did the crossword puzzle at a diner with extremely slow service and excellent french toast. We rode the quads and saw deer. My mom made us go hiking which everyone knows I hate. We played horseshoes (my parents won.) We raked leaves. A good time was had by all. I came home and fell asleep on the couch at 6:30, got up at 10:30 and went to bed and slept until 7:30 this morning. Finally, finally I am officially well rested.

Next up is an interview with none other than Kelly Cooke. Stay tuned.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!